ufda


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ehime » Matsuyama
September 13th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cleaning time!Cleaning time!Cleaning time!

Tateiwa elementary student. No, those brooms DON'T get bigger as the students grow. I sweep the teacher's room with one the same size.
Is it really Thursday tomorrow? Already? I feel like the week has just begun! It has been a crazy busy week. And a week of many firsts (as is every day in Japan...). Monday I taught my first special education class. There were 3 students from 7th and 8th grade. I gave an edited version of my self introduction and then worked on the alphabet, fruit names and animals. The real kicker was my Board of Education (bosses) sent the top dog from the office to come watch me teach for the day. Definitely a nervous wreck. But what are they going to do, fire me? he. hehehe. They left with smiles on their faces which can only lead me to believe they were pleased with my work. Because they left before I was done. How rude! For as formal as Japan can be, there are some things that surprise me.

Tuesday I biked it straight up for 25 minutes (and this was by road bike) to my little mountain school, Tateiwa elementary. I was nervous for my first group of little crazies, but now I know the elementary visits will be the highlights of my week. I brought a
Sports day practiceSports day practiceSports day practice

The boys have no reason to believe that cheerleading is a girls' world. They love the pom poms!
chocolate cake/brownie thing I made in my rice cooker. Cooked from scratch, and the teachers loved it! The tiny little school had 5 students in my first group of 1st and 2nd graders, 5 students in the 3rd and 4th grade group, and 11 in the 5th/6th grade group, so I really got to teach them something. Now they all know how to say "Minnesoooooooooooota" properly and they understand what sledding is (they only go skiing or snowboarding on Shikoku island, apparently). The biggest hit was the Beatles "Hello Goodbye" song I taught in the 5th/6th grade group. Actions and everything. The principal came in while we were blasting the music from my iPOD speakers and started dancing with us. He later told me the Beatles are his favorite. Mark one up for Marla.

Today I took a train to Asanami elementary school, 10 minutes north of Hojo on the sea. This school was slightly bigger, about 70 students total. Needless to say after 2 days with the little ones I am beat. I end up sweating buckets in each class just from running around, acting like a goon and putting up flashcards. No one mentions I stink, but
Whats going on?Whats going on?Whats going on?

That little one in the front was my favorite. He was small enough to latch onto my leg while I walked, which he did throughout the entire day.
then again I would never understand them if they tried to let me know! Still working on that Japanese...had my first night lesson on Tuesday downtown. Muzukashi!!! (difficult) but I will keep trucking with it.

So tired. so tired. Actually I took a digger at the end of my run today. I will blame it on the rain (as Mom, you blame yours on the curb), but I think I am just worn. Drew blood and everything. An old lady stopped on her bike but she just stared at me. Hmmmm. Time for bed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The commuteThe commute
The commute

Yes, this ride will keep me sore all year...


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb