An eventful week in Hojo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ehime » Matsuyama
February 5th 2007
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The week was full of activities for me at school, including the debut of the sea turtle skit "Adelita the Loggerhead goes to Japan" that I wrote. Also made the paper puppets for the skit, since Japanese students aren't too big on drama. Don't let anyone talk you into sitting through one of their theater shows. But the kids were great sports about it, anyways. Got to publicize my love of turtles to the kids (and they actually get sea turtles on the beaches in Tokushima, Shikoku, so its more meaningful for them). Also made the lesson into an environmental awareness class about the dangers of sweep-fishing (with nets) or throwing garbage around (a real problem here in Japan...but maybe that's because there are no garbage cans to be found in public areas...hmmmmm).
Next event of the week: SNOW!!! Yes snow on Shikoku!!! 2 days in a row! Not that any of it remains, but Friday night there were cars coming down from the mountains with almost 5 inches piled on the roof. Pretty good for this fare-weather land.
And amidst the snowy weather, a ceremony in our NON-HEATED gym for the coming of age of all 14 year olds (8th
All tied upAll tied upAll tied up

Some of the mothers from the PTA had volunteered to dress us in their own kimono
graders). The ceremony was 2 hours long and I lost feeling in all my fingers despite the warming packets in my shoes and coat pockets. As the students sang the school song, I watched the frost of their breath form in front of their faces. After the ceremony I quickly biked back to my base school to get dressed in a kimono (just for fun, with some of the 8th grade girls) and then enjoy a tea ceremony with students. Not as formal as my lessons ( I was teaching some of the students from what I know!) but fun all the same.
On to Saturday. Soccer tourney in Kagawa-ken with many other JETs from all over Shikoku Island. Mike and I were pretty sore after that one. Finishing up with a party Hokey Pokey, Mike's Friday night employer. Met some of the students, Hiroki (the young owner), and other teachers. Good times teaching them slang and phrases from Minnesota.
Finally Sunday had warmed up so we spent the day on the beach, enjoying the free warmth.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb