Malaysia/Indonesia/Hong Kong


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello! I hate back-blogging but I want to get some pictures up from my trips outside Korea. I went to Malaysia and Indonesia during the first week of Korean school last March. We started out in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia then took a short flight out to Medan, Indonesia. Malaysia was really great, we had great food, saw the Petronas Towers, some really big mosques, and the Hindu Caves. But it was Indonesia that completely stole my heart. I was only there for the short side of a week, and I think it is my favorite place I have ever been. It was so chaotically beautiful. We first went into the jungle during the pouring rain for a trek to find orangutans. We were so lucky to get the opportunity to feed the orangutans. One was pregnant and one had a little baby, they were so amazing! Our ecolodge was unbelievable, our bathroom was a partial open-air garden and the food was the best I have ever had.
We then did a little off-roading with our guides to get out of the jungle and into the highlands. We saw waterfalls, chased water buffaloes, and stayed on a volcanic lake. I cant even begin to tell you how much I loved Indonesia, the food was incredible, the people were so nice, the language is pretty easy, and its just overall wonderful. I really hope to go back and spend some serious time there.
On our way home we had a night stopover in Hong Kong. Nothing to special, we had some good food, good coffee, and read some english newspapers yay! It was an incredible trip, even months later as I write about it, I still feel the same excitement.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb