sumatra is good so far.


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra
March 3rd 2008
Published: March 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

i got to sumatra, bandur lampung at 5am. wanting to take the night bus again, to bukittinggi, i did not want to find a hotel, just a bus there. i tried to tell the bus driver my situation, but no english. this young girl, who knew english over heard my story and offered to help me out. i was skeptical, but for somereason i just went with it. she said her brother would drive us to their house. as soon as we got off the bus, her brother and a friend were there on motor bikes. i got on, worrying that they might take me and beat me and steal my shit...but it was too late, i was on the bike.

we get to the house, and there are their parents and younger sister there waiting to greet her. they didnt even hesitate, and took me in speaking broken english and i saw many pictures of jesus christ in their house, and that made me feel safe. they gave me a bed to crash in and i slept an extra well needed 4 hours. the brother took me to find internet, and is picking me up at 1pm by the post office.

Dont worry guys, i know where they live, i copied down their address, and i know my way back there if they ditch. if i felt like this was the least bit dodgy, i would be out of that situation. But im going to put my trust in them, i have a good feeling. So far so good....

the people in indo, (so far i feel it mostly here in sumatra, although its just been a few hours) are so nice! police stop to ask if i am ok and where i am going, everyone smiles, i feel like a celebrity.

today is a great experiance, i really feel like an angel is watching over me. please keep your positive thoughts, i am feeling them.


Advertisement



3rd March 2008

i love you ty! i am glad to hear that your days are looking up. i cant wait to get there with you and make some awesome memories! oxox
3rd March 2008

Fucking sweet dude. I can't wait till we have a chance to talk. I got some stories for you too.
3rd March 2008

Sumatra is the best
Hi Ty, I told you, everything would be o.k. Indonesian people are the best esp in Sumatra. Enjoy your time, have a ball. You will love West Sumatra. If you had time, south of Padang is a small fishing village of Painan-one magic place where my crazy friend Edi lives. Oh, I am so jealous you are there, but not long and I have 27 days to wander Indonesia from April 10th. Pamela.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb