movin onnnnnnn


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Bandung
March 2nd 2008
Published: March 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So im going to sumatra tonite. An over night bus, big and vip, just above the cost of accomidation for a night. its the cheap way to travel (well, i could take a crowded bus for a fraction of the cost...but it just doesnt intice me...). I will arrive in bandur lampung, sumatra tomorro morning, with enough time to find internet to msn my lady for a bit.


I have decided not to stay in that port town (bandur lampung), i dont have that many days left and i want to spend some time in these 2 places that were reccomended to me by travelers, and my shoestring traveler book. The first is Bukittinggi. I love saying that name. pronounced buckit - in - gi (g as in guy)

Its very peaceful, cheap, and lots of wilderness, jungle and not alot of crazy metro real world type stuff....exactly what i am looking for. The thing is, after my night bus of 11 hours (no big deal, you sleep then you are pretty much there) my bus to bukittinggi is 24 hours!

I will stay there for a few days i think....till im off to danau toba, a island in the middle of a lake. The lake was created by a huge earthquake 80,000 years ago, then the island was created by another earthquake 50,000 years after that. its the spiritual island of sumatra so im told. it sounds captivating.

I have not met any travelers in java in my age group, and i have not even seen a white person in bandung yet. very strange. coming from canada, we are used to seeing people of all colors, this place is just indonesian and chinese.

I am getting better at playing real life frogger (traffic just does not ever stop, and it just flows cars and motor bikes), the trick is to just GO, and hope nobody hits you. they dont. i have seen old women go at old women speed, and make it across 4 rows of traffic.

I have to say, this is an interesting island. My negative attitude at times just stems from culture shock, and maybe i miss having friends or people to talk to. but i gather my perspective and move on, and remember why i went on this trip.

my mind is expanding, i just hope it doesnt make my head any bigger.

man....35 hours on a bus tho...i have to remember to bring my coat tho, they crank the air conditioning and AC actually makes me sick after a while.

cheers guys

ty guy

Advertisement



2nd March 2008

AC
Man I rememer the AC cranked on the buses.. they have this crazy mentality out there , it constantly blew my mind, the kids used to crank the AC in my classroom even in their "winter" season (like plus ten) and wear huge winter jackets to class... I would ask them "do you know how ridic this is, take off your jacket, turn down the AC, or here's an idear.. turn iti off for a day", you say this as you look out the window wondering where the sun is hiding behind all the pollution and shake your head. LOve you baby, Mario
2nd March 2008

9 days!
9th March 2008

Giver!
Hey Ty! Love reading your blogs. You are doing two of the best things you can ever do for yourself, spending time alone and travelling! Most people are so freaked out about being alone, that they can't even sit at home by themselves for very long. Keep on keepin on!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb