weds day 61


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Sengigi
March 25th 2015
Published: March 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Deciding to leave Bali today to travel east to an island called Lombok - after a bit of haggling I got a price I was happy with for a return journey to and from the island. Setting my alarm for 05.30 for another early start and being driven to Padang bai ( about 2hrs from Seminyak on the east coast) and waiting for what seemed like ages for a boat - we were finally on our way! Arriving an hour later ( the public boat taking 5hrs!) and being offered a motorbike ride with my heavy bags to the hotel for 60,000 rupiah - £3 I didn't think was too bad. Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by really friendly staff, so after I unpacked my bags I headed out to find the local shops and beach. Armed with a couple of drinks I went and sat on the beach and watched some fishermen pulling in their nets - it looked like a really tough game of tug of war so I offered them some of my biscuits - to which they gladly obliged. Quite a contrast from Bali being not a single tourist in sight ( only me!) the beach was full of tradional boats, chickens, a few dogs and some locals. Waiting to see the fishermen's catch and it not seeming that much at all and waving at a shy little girl who wasn't sure whether to come and say hello or not, i headed back to the road. Hearing a faint noise behind me i turned to see an older man running towards me holding the little girl - i stopped and as they got close i bent down, the girl took my hand and pressed it to her nose ( the traditional way for a child to greet an adult) she cant of been much older than 3. Feeling very touched by the kind gesture all I had to offer was some biscuits, which she took and as we were almost out of view we both turned and waved goodbye. Making it back to the road I got a horse and cart into Senggigi - the nearest town about 5km away. These aren't a tourist attraction, they are the local traditional form of taxi. Finding a tour agency ( not being too difficult - there are loads) and finding out a little about a 4day/3 night boat ride out to komodo to see the dragons - and opting to think on it for a day or two I booked a boat ride out to Gili Air for tomorrow. Finding a restaurant and having some dinner and afterwards being offered a lift by a young lad on a motorbike back to my hotel ( its not unusual to be offered a lift like this - nearly everyone owns a motorbike in Indonesia and they either just want to be really helpful or try to earn a little bit of cash.) with helmets very rarely being worn and this driver texting while driving I was happy when we had arrived - giving him 20,000 - but not really wanting to accept it ( only on the basis that I called him tomorrow when he would take me somewhere for free!) he handed me his mobile number and we said goodbye. I spent the rest of the evening relaxing and writing up this blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb