thurs day 62


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gili Air
March 25th 2015
Published: March 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post

After having a good nights sleep but not being able to face a cold shower, I had my breakfast and got picked up along with 7 others to be taken to the harbour. Waiting with a couple from Belgium and a couple from Canada for the public boat to be full and we would be on our way. Sharing the long wooden boat with about 50 locals, boxes of beers, baskets of vegetables and fruits - 20 minutes later we had arrived at Gili Air. There are no roads on the island, so no traffic, and only one path that winds its way round - which can be walked in about 1hr. If transport is needed its by bicycle or horse and cart. The beaches are very clean with mostly white sand and clear turquoise waters and the island has a nice selection of cafes, restaurants, hotels and of course tour companies. Stopping off at a cafe I met a nice Australian man called Kevin who was staying on Gili Air for a few days. Deciding that we would walk around the island together that's what we did, stopping now and then to take in the beautiful scenery. It was so nice to be able to walk along and not to be called out to every few seconds "miss" "miss" "taxi" "taxi" or to be constantly beeped at by passing taxis! The island isn't dirty and doesn't feel overrun by tourists - was really pleased to have paid a visit. After my tour of the island, Kevin and I went and had some dinner, we then said our goodbyes and I walked over to find out about a return journey. 2 choices - 12,000 rupiah for a public boat or 150,000 rupiah for a tourist boat ( 60 pence or £8) the tour company obviously trying to sell me the more expensive option - frustratingly wouldn't give me any information regarding the public boat - but would sell the ticket! So, with zero information I opted for the public boat only finding out that the last one may or may not leave about 5oclock! The time being 4oclock I went and sat near the public boat area and talking to a nice man found out that he was also waiting for the boat back to Lombok. Within 20 minutes we were on a full boat - no problems at all. On the crossing I sat chatting to another really nice Indonesian man who, fluent in English used to be a diving instructor. Having made it back to Lombok the previous man I had been chatting with offered me a lift back to my hotel on his motorbike. Taking a more interesting route back through the monkey forest and through another small town - 1/2 hr later and we had made it. Not accepting any money at all but a shake of the hand we said our goodbyes, but I couldn't really express how grateful I was - as his home happened to be in the opposite direction and he had just spent a day at work!
Just before leaving Gili Air Kevin and I talked about how I was going to get back to my hotel and how easy or difficult it was going to be. Well, it was as easy as falling off a log and I cost me less than £1! Thanks to the kindness of strangers.
Feeling quite chuffed i went back to my room and relaxed for the rest of the evening.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb