Wibble Wobble Jelly....FISH


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gilli Trawangan
January 31st 2006
Published: February 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bye Bye Bali, Hello LombokBye Bye Bali, Hello LombokBye Bye Bali, Hello Lombok

This ferry got very crowded and took a LONG 4 hours to cross from Bali to Lombok. Every form of transport was used to get to my island. Van, Car, Ferry, Horse and Cart and Motor Boat.
Anyway, feeling a bit down in the dumps I decided to do the thing I have grown to really enjoy- Scuba Diving!!! I went to another island in Indonesia called Lombok. It takes 12 hours to get there by bus, ferry and local transport (horse and cart!!) to these little group of islands called Gilli's. I went on the largest island to a place called Manta Dive. There is no motorised vehicles here- hence the use of horse and cart!!!! I did my advanced scuba course and something called a Nitrox course. The advanced involved a Naturalist dive where I had to learn the fish names (not in latin thank god!!) and identify them, a navigation dive where I learnt to use a compass and guided my instructor underwater, a deep dive which took me to 30 metres (maximum is 40 for recreational diving, but you should never go that deep as it's easy to go deeper by accident and that's dangerous), a night dive which was really really scary. The nitorx means that you are certified to use a specially blend of air which has more oxygen in it so minimises the risk of building up nitrogen in your blood
My War WoundsMy War WoundsMy War Wounds

The results of my jelly fish sting which was all over my legs and arms. It didn't stop itching for 2 weeks.
and so you can stay deeper longer!!! It involves a lot of maths and you have to do an exam as you have to know how to work out your oxygen blood content to pre vent poisoning. Anyway, I got 100% in my exam- even though there was loads of maths!!!! I'm very proud!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Gilli TrewanganGilli Trewangan
Gilli Trewangan

The island. It was idyllic, white sands and warm clear blue water.


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb