Borobudur and Prabanan


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Yogyakarta
February 10th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yes, I made it here yesterday. And yesssss Phyllis, I have been going a lot and am a bit tired. I knew I wanted to do any travel at the beginning of my trip so I could chill afterward. I'm working a bit of a cold so, when I get to Ubud tonight, I have a place to stay and several days to do nothing but look around. I met two ladies from Holland last night and they gave me a suggestion for a place they stayed and loved so much, they stayed 10 days instead of two or three.

Kelly, Borobudur was very impressive and I did not feel that noticeable energy behind the scenes like you and I talked about at Machu Picchu. Amazing piece of work. I was able to walk the entire structure in a manner like the monks do when they are there for ceremony, clockwise one level at a time. The changes in the relief work is noticeable and the Buddha's change on every level. The views were stunning of the surrounding area as well. We went for sunrise and the cloud cover kept sunrise from happening. However, mist hung low in the valleys and it had a mystical quality about it.

We stopped by another temple on the way to Prabanam and I saw a tree there like the Tule tree in Oaxaca. This one is called the "Tree of God" and it's huge. The tree in Tule is the largest tree/biomass on the planet.

It was a great day meeting new people. I stopped at the Hotbeds Risto for dinner last night and met a man from Texas who is traveling before starting med school in August. Then the two ladies from Holland stopped by. This morning, I saw both as the ladies came for breakfast when I was phoning mom and dad and my friend from Texas was loading pictures to the internet.

Now, to share some photo's with you. By the way, postage for post cards if one dollar US in addition to the post cards. So, if you aren't mom and dad, don't hold your breath waiting for one!

I'll post this, head back to the hotel, maybe do a little shopping and head to the airport for the next phase of my journey.

Cheers...Larry


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



12th February 2009

How's Alaska?
Hello Darin...nice hearing from you. Hope your adventure is going great. My cold is nearly gone after the healing session yesterday. I woke in the middle of the night BURNING up and am sure it was from the body work and the herbs they used with me. My low back is acting up so I'm going to see Dr. Wayan about seeing the healer she goes to when she is not feeling well. Still not feeling very settled in Ubud. Combination of rain very day, my cold, back pain distraction and the place I am staying has LOTS of crowing roosters around it. I mean ALL night long so I took a nap after breakfast this morning and am doing much better. I'm around the corner from "Bali Buddha"...a very well known restaurant here. Buddha's everywhere over here! Take care Darin....Larry

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb