My Indonesian TV debut!!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hey,

I haven't really been up to that much since I've last updated really. Just kind of getting my head around what PATTIRO does and trying to figure out what it is exactly that they want me to do and also what I want to get out of that...

The area in which the office is and also where I'm living is called Tebet and is quite a young, trendy area. There are streets nearby with loads of cafes and trendy, boutique type stores selling skaterish style funky t-shirts, skinny jeans, music etc. In the evenings especially it's really busy. I was having lunch in one of the cafes one day last week and someone came over to ask if I'd be in the TV programme. V random I know! I think for novelty value they thought i'd be good to have someone who's obviously not Indonesian!! (I have only seen two white people so far since being here over two weeks and they were both in a mall. Jakarta is def not a big tourist destination!!)
The show was some kind of gameshow type thing and I had to see how many people I could get to show me their ID cards in 5 minutes. It was quite funny and prob will make v ridiculous viewing as my Indonesian is def not up to having proper conversations with people yet!! Luckily some at least got the jist and I managed to get 7 cards, quite impressive i feel!! There was supposed to be a prize of 200,000 Rupiah (quite a lot of money here, i only pay 500,000 a month rent!) I doubt I'll hear back about that but I had fun making an idiot out of myself anyway! The show is on TV on sunday, def good job it's in a country where i don't really know anyone!!

love claire xxxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

I stopped a car, oppsie! I stopped a car, oppsie!
I stopped a car, oppsie!

There weren't enough people around...


21st September 2007

What a pity we aren't able to see the show, claire.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb