Borobudur


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Borobudur
February 2nd 2008
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Even though I was the first to arrive at the ticket counter at Borobudur Temple at 6am, the sun rise has long passed.

Crap! There goes the highlight of my trip 😞 I thought to myself.
After all, the best time to photograph Borobudur Temple is either at sun rise or sunset. And I didn't have the luxury to stay until sunset! Haha...

Stupas at BorobudurTemple

Buddha Statue at Borobudur Temple

Not wanting to be just looking at 'stones', I hired a guide for 50,000(RM19). It was alright, only problem was, I couldn't juggle between history lesson and taking artsy photographs. By the time I finish the temple tour (about 2 hours), I was exhausted and the sun was too bright and unforgiving to indulge in any form of photography. sigh!

So, that was it?! The highlight of my trip. Unbelievably funny I thought...I mean, Borobudur temple experience was supposed to wow me. But instead, it gave me nothing of that sort. mm...

*****
12pm. Made it just in time to Borobudur bus station before it started pouring again.

It pays when you speak (0r make an attempt to speak) the local language in the country you travel in. Before I open my mouth, many locals mistaken me for Japanese/Korean (never chinese!), some even Thai! But when I started speaking in Bahasa Indonesia and told them I am from Malaysia, their reaction was priceless! Haha...

A friend of mine once said that Bahasa Indonesia is a piece of cake. Just say everything in 'Bahasa Baku' and add the word 'bisa' in between and there you have it - Bahasa Indonesia! hehe... Perhaps. But you would sound more convincing if you imitate the slang and know a few common Indonesian words :p

Anyway, Bahasa Indonesia is not hard to master. Almost all the gweilo I came across in Jogja speaks Bahasa Indonesia! So cool!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Dokar Dokar
Dokar

The streets of Maliobora is full of these jingling, horse-drawn card called dokar.


16th November 2009

GOOD PICTURES!I LIKE!
These pictures look very interesting.
7th March 2010

wonderful buddhist monastry
I always remember the scenery of borobudur temple
12th May 2010

Hi, my name is yaya. I am study about heritage sites for Borobudur and Prambanan right now. I was wondering before you went to Indonesia Borobudr and Pambanan, where your information comes from was. And where were your information in your blog came from? Were you used the wikitravel or other web site to search your information about Borobudur and Prambanan? And what were you looking for or experience in those two heritage? What's the most attract you in Borobudur and Prambanan? I really need your information! Thank you for your apply!!! Yaya

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb