Solo to Borobudur


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Solo
February 1st 2008
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It was great to be on the road again although few hours ago I almost gave up RM300+ worth of air ticket due to some not so nice vibe from the office. Not forgetting dad being a bit apprehensive on letting me go on a short trip before Chinese New Year.

Understandable, who in the right mind would let their children fly to another country a few days before CNY and risk not having them coming back? You know, parents think the worst for their children. But as I've told dad many time, we attract what we fear. If anything were to happen to me, who else to be blamed to have injected all the negative thoughts? Certainly not me.


The flight to Solo was a pleasant one and it gets even better because I am doing it alone this time.

I headed straight to Solo Balapan (train station) to catch the train to Jogja, only to find that I've missed the 8.30am train and had to wait another 2 hours for the next train. So the next few hours was spend chit chatting with the attendant who told me to stop at Station Tugu in Jogja to catch a bus directly to Borobudur.

I reached Station Tugu and had a tough time getting directions on where to board the local bus to Borobudur. Frustrated, I flagged a motobike which took me 4km north of Jogja - Jombor and hopped on the next available bus to Borobudur.

The bus ride to Borobudur took 45 minutes and cost 10,000RP(RM4) This is the standard fee, so don't let the bus conductor tell you otherwise :p

******
It can get pretty confusing when not enough research is done prior to a backpacking trip. When the bus stopped at the Borobudur bus station, it took me a while to 'realized' I've arrived! Well at least the bus conductor could have announced our arrival, instead of letting me being 'ambushed' by pool of Becak driver, each eager to take me to Borobudur temple and the guest houses.

Anyway, realizing that I'll probably have little luck wandering on my own looking for a guest house, I surrender my fate to a becak driver who recommended Lotus Guest house as(according to him) is just next to the Borobudur temple.

Well indeed! The guest house was located near the main parking area of the temple. And for 150,000RP(RM57), I got myself a room with 2 double bed, a private bathroom, tv & breakfast. Probably too much for a single traveler but all the single rooms were taken so...

Anyway, the rest of the afternoon was spend cruising the little 'kampung' with the becak driver, whom I paid 50,000RP(RM19)for sight seeing at Mendut Temple and Candi Pawon. Which was kinda crappy...because it rained when we were at Mendut Temple and I realized later that 50,000RP was a bit too much to pay for such a short distance. I really could have rented a bicycle for that. Oh well...

Advertisement



3rd March 2009

Interesting.....
Thks for sharing......... I am going there in April'09. Appreciate for more info :-)

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb