Labaunbajo - Penny Pinchers


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Flores » Labuanbajo
November 23rd 2007
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LabuanbajoLabuanbajoLabuanbajo

sunset over Labuanbajo Bay

Penny Pinchers



This is my third blog for today! A lot has happened I guess.

So this evening I chilled out with my fellow dive buddies. The 2 American girls were telling us about their travels through Flores. There story was so different to mine, they apparently got ripped off everywhere they went?. I told them I thought this was strange as I hadn't found the Flores people to be dishonest, quite the opposite in fact, I kept getting free stuff?. At first I thought to myself that it was probably one of the girls sour faces and miserable attitude that got them ripped off left right and centre, but later on I found out what they considered being ripped off to be. For instance they would ask the price of the bus journey and everyones telling them 5000 rupiah which is about 30p/60c, but because they know this isn't the local price' they won't pay it. So they got mad about it! questioned dozens of people trying to get soemone to tell them what the 'local price' is. Lets get this in perspective...they are arguinhg over pennies/cents?!?!? I'm all for a bargain and not getting ripped off but
Beauitful sunset on one of the best days of the yearBeauitful sunset on one of the best days of the yearBeauitful sunset on one of the best days of the year

Sunset on our way back from The Komodo National park
seriously this was just taking it oo far. I am so glad I didn't end up travelling with these 2...turns out they wouldn't pay for a guide so most of the island they didn't understand. Flores is definetly a place where you need help from the locals in order to appreciate all the island has to offer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



14th July 2008

Wow
Laura you are so lucky! You have seen some amazing things and been to some amazing places. x

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb