Manta Ray Labuanbajo


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Flores » Labuanbajo
November 23rd 2007
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Magnificent Manta!!



The amazing day continued with 2 perfect out of this world dives!

The first dive we went to The Coral Gardens....a long long stretch of reef full of the most colourful coral. Made diving in Thailand look drab! Saw some Reef Sharks, Turtles and dozens of fish! no octopus yet though!

The second dive we went to a dive site called "The Airstrip". Its a long flat stretch of seabed about 9 metres down, and its frequented by Manta Ray. The area used to be home to around 300 Manta Ray but at last count there was just 25, they have been driven away by people chasing them, some people have even been known to throw themselves on them and ride them?!?!?!?!

Both dive instructors were real nervous as we might not see any, which would mean we would see nothing as there wasn't much other maribe life here. So down we went, we had to swim against a strong current which I found quite hard. Everyone else seemed a much stronger swimmer, I had visions of me being left behind, washed away into the deep blue. Then out of nowhere comes 3 Manta!!!, so
DivingDivingDiving

perfect sunset on the perfect day
as instructed we all lie on the bottom of the ocean floor clinging onto whatever was fixed to stop us washing away with the current. We stayed like this for about 30 minutes. The whole time I had this Manta no more than a foot above me. I thought at one point it might settle on my head! It was amazing to see them so close up, they really are incredible! After seeing these 3 Manta we must have seen about another 15!, sometimes 5 at once. There was a huge black one which was 5+ metres across!

This is one of the most amazing experiences I have ever encountered. They look like they fly through the water. Considering this was just my 8th dive I was very lucky to see them. This many Manta hadn't been seen in over 3 years. A great sign that they are coming back.

Tomorrow I leave Labuanbajo for Mataram, Lombok...then on to Gilly Trawangan. I would have stayed and dived for a third day but I have an ear infection. 30 hour journey ahead of me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

DivingDiving
Diving

sunset
Manta Ray!!Manta Ray!!
Manta Ray!!

one of the guys took this photo


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb