Its a long way to Labuanbajo...


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Flores » Labuanbajo
November 21st 2007
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Labuanbajo...



This morning I got on the bus to Labuanbajo, scheduled to last 10 hours! The bus wasn't too bad, of course the big fat policeman had to sit next to me. I was squashed between him and the window and he chain smoked the whole way. He and everyone else on the bus was really nice though. I got bought mango's, cigarettes, water...I guess I was a bit of a novelty, tourist on the local bus. I was the only person on the bus with a penknife though, imperative with only mango's to eat! Without my penknife in its pretty pink leather case the whole bus may have gone hungry.

This bus journey seemed to last forever, everytime we got to the top of a mountain I would hope to see the sea but instead just saw more and more jungle. The bus seated about 30 people, and at one point there must have been up to 50 people on board, whether it be inside, on the roof, hanging out the door, hanging on to the sides....personal space went out the window, thank god I'm not as prescious about it as I was a few months ago! We arrived in Labuanbajo eventually, I even think it took as long as it was supposed to which was quite an acheivement. I found a nice place to stay and booked some diving for tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb