Pradha Guest House


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
March 3rd 2008
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -8.51927, 115.263

So seeing as I have made the Pradha Guesthouse my home for 3 weeks (Feb 18- March 12) and Bali is hurting for tourists, and the staff has become my family, and they asked me nicely everyday to post pictures so that all my friends in America will come to Bali and stay at Pradha. I'll dedicate today's entry to the house.

In the center of the village of Ubud lies the kings palace, in front of the palace is Ubud's main town Temple called Pura Desa. (The back wall of Pura Desa is the front wall of the Palace.) Just to the right of the Palace, is the Lotus Temple (where I saw a Gamelan Show) with the lotus pond that you've seen pictures of. The Lotus temple is the private family temple of the king's family, which is why we can't go in. (http://www.indo.com/active/ubud1.html)

Cool side note, I just did a google search to find a link to show you more info on the Lotus Temple, and my own blog entry called "There is a 1 hour time change" was a first page result! Maybe my little ole' blog will be useful info in the future for other tourists who come here. Cool.

So Pradha Guest house is 6 rooms in total. 3 upstairs 3 downstairs, with king beds private stone baths/tubs, and a/c, and all overlooking the pool and the lotus pond; really nice place. It also has its own little cafe, where I have my coffee every morning that overlooks the lotus pond. It's right off the main road, but behind the temple, so it's close to everything but the temple is a sound barrier from the traffic of the motorbikes.
The family stays in their grounds, not usually coming onto the Guesthouse property. Except sometimes the kids will whiz by the pool on their way home from school in the afternoon. But I've only seen them a couple times, I'm not usually home then. And also I saw the family on Nyippe, the biggest holiday of the year in Bali, it's the Hindu new year. And because we were all resigned to the grounds that day (no walking on the streets) I inevitable saw the kids running all over. It was a welcome distraction to the quiet of the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Pradhe Guest House View of Lotus PondPradhe Guest House View of Lotus Pond
Pradhe Guest House View of Lotus Pond

Look through the trees. I took this on Nyippe when I was a little bored =)


10th March 2008

You've done well! I'm definitely adding this to my list of places Damon must take me! :) Breathtaking!! (My kids won't miss me when I refuse to return home. Right?)
31st March 2008

From Mom How can you compare that to the Red Roofs of America? LOL Love, Mom
21st January 2011

Hi,This place looks interesting.But, you must add some more information on Bed and Breakfast accommodation of this guest house.Good luck!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb