Beautiful Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
November 24th 2015
Published: November 24th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Since I last updated my blog I've been up to a lot of fun stuff!

My dive trip was great, it was just a day trip with two dives, there was only me diving with the one dive master (the rest of the people on the boat were snorkelling) so I was able to have him spend some time refreshing things with me (it had been almost 9 years since I last went diving!). I didn't have to memorize all the dive tables and depth calculations all over again luckily! But I did get a refresher on equipment and did jyst fine (took me a bit to get the right buoyancy and to breathe and swim calmly though). They were both drift dives along the side of a big drop off, so it was an easy relaxing dive. We saw lots of great stuff: a sea turtle, clown fish, lion fish, a frog fish, trigger fish, two moray eels and lots of other beautiful tropical fish. We also saw a cuttlefish - definitely the coolest as we could watch it change colours! I rented an underwater digital camera so got some great shots.

The day after my dive I was up early to go see some Dolphins. Lovina area is famous for them and it was a free tour for me since I booked the dive. I had heard that it's a pretty touristy trip so I didn't book it myself, but since it was included I figured I would go. We did see lots of dolphins but every time they came up for air they were totally mobbed by tour boats trying to get their passengers the closest for photos. I worried that the Dolphins were getting stressed and probably not getting proper breathing time. They had small babies too! So as soon as our guide asked us if we had enough photos I immediately said yes and if we could go back. The sad part is that this happens everyday and the 45 or so boats out there when I went is only a fragment of the amount they get in the busy season. Somewhat heartbreaking.

When I got back to my hotel I packed up my stuff and caught a ride with a couple I had met the previous day. She was a Canadian and her husband was Italian, they had paid for a private car to drive them to Ubud and to stop on the way at some waterfalls. They invited me to join them so we split the cost of the car and it was a very pleasant drive. The waterfalls took about an hour to walk to, the trails were good but definitely took some muscle (long hike down and back out again in the heat). Luckily it was only locals there for the most part as most tourists don't want to walk that far (typical), so it was a nice break off the beaten path.

The driver was amazing, he drove like a normal person and I didn't fear for my life. That's my new criteria for a good trip - relaxation in a vehicle! I was dropped off in central Ubud and found a guesthouse for the night. A family compound with one guest suite. It was nice but I got a weird vibe from the place so only stayed there one night. The next day I moved to an actual hotel type place with a pool and a charming atmosphere. It is right across the road from the Monkey Forest for which Ubud is famous - a forest with temples in the middle of town with a ton of monkeys. Of course they're not locked down so imagine my surprise when I found a whole family of monkeys on the terrace outside my room when I went to leave for the morning after checking in!

I explored the town a bit, the "market" is just a giant tourist trap with all the same stuff as you can find all over Bali. I did buy a very nice sarong though and the lady showed me how to tie it properly (sadly I've been doing it embarrassingly wrong forever). I will now be on the lookout for the traditional top that goes with it in Balinese style.

After lunch I stopped in a spa for an incredible 2-hour spa treatment for $21 Canadian. A fancy massage, a coconut sugar body scrub, a yogurt moisturizing therapy and then a relaxing cool bath in a tub full of fragrant flowers. I felt super fancy. Definitely would recommend the spas in Ubud - there are many and they are quite cheap.

Today I was up early to go back to the market again, I learned that from 6-8 every morning it's a food market where everyone sells produce, meats and spices and all that great stuff. Then they leave and the people who sell the "I heart Bali" tshirts set up shop for the tourists. The market was amazing! Much like any market, the plethora of foodstuffs was amazing, I asked a million questions and the people were so friendly and willing to answer my queries about what everything was (there's actually TWO kinds of fresh turmeric you can buy - white and yellow).

I bought a traditional Balinese breakfast from a vendor just to see what it was about - and I will be setting my alarm to go back tomorrow for another round! Very delicious and sweet - white coconut rice, black rice, shredded fresh coconut, klepon (which is like moshi) and all drizzled in coconut palm sugar syrup.

After the market, and my newfound appreciation for fresh awesome food, I went to a cooking class I had set up. I was lucky because nobody else had signed up so I basically had a private lesson with two cooks! They walked me through making 6 different dishes - including how to make real peanut sauce for satay! - and I was charged with eating it all after. I was able to take the extras to go so I've got dinner tonight as well. I received copies of all the recipes too, so am looking forward to trying them when I get home!

I spent the rest of the afternoon poolside before going to visit the monkey forest. The monkeys are quite bold but also fun to watch - the young ones especially! Jumping, climbing, swimming and playing - I laughed out loud at their antics quite a few times.

When I got back to the hotel I found that the bikini top I left outside to dry was gone, stolen by a monkey and spirited away to wherever monkeys keep their treasures! The hotel staff climbed up on the roofs as far as they dared (up pretty high with a long fall) but didn't find it. Good thing I brought a back up!

Tomorrow I'm off to the south end of Bali - in Sanur. After I stop at the market for breakfast of course!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



25th November 2015

Monkeying around
The little thieves! Skmehow I am delighted by your tale if loss if only for the exotic nature of monkeys running amok! I am most intrigued by your private culinary tutorial. .. I can't wait to be a dinner fuest; I'll split the groceries and clean up! Ubud sounds delightful and I am glad you pampered yourself with the spa day. Your pictures look brilliant... and you look so happy! Stay safe... love and hugs. Xoox

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb