Still alive and well. Having fun.


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
May 9th 2005
Published: May 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi there! There is so much to do here, I'd rather do than blog. AND here's an update so you won't worry.

After having a wee case of "oh my god! what am I doing here?" on the first night in Ubud, I am feeling great.
I've taken day trips to Tirta Empul to bathe in the sacred spring water that pours out of all these carved stone spouts (with offerings and incense heaped on each) into a big pool, wearing sarong and sash of course (because its a holy spring) and praying at each spout... which totally cleared my skin;
Bedugal to see the lake and temple;
Kintamani to have lunch on the rim of the outer crater of Gunung Batur (Bali's second biggest volcano),
Pura Something Something to see these giant rock cut shrines, temple, and to swim in the pool under a waterfall;
looking into the crater at the amazing view of the lake and the inner volcanic cone;
the night market at Gianyar to eat really spicy food and the best black rice pudding (totally real Bali, no tourists);
the black sand beach where all the local youth hang out on saturday night (again, no tourists);
I've seen Kecak, Legong, Barong, Janger dancing/singing - even a private view of the Janger rehearsal since the performance was rained out - amazing;
gotten massage and the best facials and body scrubs and masks for $8 - 23;
I've walked, and walked, and walked, and walked, and walked, and walked, and walked, and walked, and walked;
I've shopped,
I've bargained;
I've made plans to buy another bag to bring all the souvenirs and gifts home;
I've eaten amazing food for really cheap (ie last night I had an amazing, outdoor, candlelit 3 course meal and 2 beverages, in a beautiful restraunt overlooking the Ubud Water Palace (with giant lotuses) for about $12);
and I'm really working on my feet - all my toes are waking up, turning into fingers! LOL;
danced in a bar/nightclub to an excellent Balinese Reggae band (compete with dreads) while dressed elegantly in sarong, sash, and kebayah;
and all the men here go, "woah, you are like real Balinese woman!" LOL;
and today I'm going to Goa Gajah, the "Elephant Cave" and then Petulu at sundown to see (reputedly) thousands of white herons flock in to roost for the night;

I'm sure I've left something out... all since I've been in Ubud (6 days).

I change hotels tomorrow (tuesday). Moving to the Ananda, which is a little out side of central Ubud(west) where the massage class will be. Teachers meeting on wednesday morning and start teaching on wednesday night.

Love you all madly,
Maggie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb