Balinese New Year....did the chickens get the memo about Quiet Day?


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
March 12th 2013
Published: March 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday the festivities were in full swing for the Balinese New Year's Eve festival... starting at 4 a.m. in the morning. I love Bali and I love their traditions....even the ones where you bang the pots in the wee early morning to scare off the evil spirits and wake up slumbering tourists like myself. Before I even opened my eyes, I heard the roosters going and the clanging of pots and drums. I couldn't help but laugh because any other place in the world, this scenario would not have flown so well within any city, village, town. Have I told you I loved Bali?

At 7 a.m. I headed down for my cup of coffee and met humidity and the smiling faces of the family members living next door. Staying here in a home stay and learning the ways of Bali life is the best experience ever. We were warned that it was going to be a sweltering day. Kadek arrived at 8 a.m. to make sure we were taken care of before we left for our walk into the village. She served us this amazing fruit juice which had ginger, pineapple and other fruits. We had to leave early
OfferingsOfferingsOfferings

Offerings left before a shrine in Ubud all in preparation of the Balinese New Year.
because the heat was already intense and, by the way, did I want an umbrella to shield myself from the sun???

I should have taken that umbrella.

Ubud has changed. It's grown and there more shops and bikes and life. I missed see the rice paddies I once saw as I walked into the village. Where are those rice paddies? Upon arriving at the main drag, I found a little market that showcased every kind of souvenir you could possibly want or not want. Kites, bowls, sarongs, fruits, whatever...before I knew it, I was bartering for bowls I really did not want. I blame it on the heat and the basket of mangosteens I saw across from that stall. Mangosteen and humidity wreak havoc on my retail judgment. I walked on with a promise to return for the bowls at a later date.

We found the Lotus Cafe a little ways up the street right smack (be ready for this) next to a Starbucks. Yeah Yeah! Anyway, this jewel of a cafe sits right in front of a beautiful lotus pond and old temple. This pond is worth a few minutes of your busy time. Walk around
The BoarThe BoarThe Boar

This is one of many Ogah Ogah's paraded throughout the streets of Ubud to scare off evil spirits before the New Year.
the ponds and visit the temple behind it if you can. It is picturesque and seeing those pretty pink lotuses reaching towards the heavens is so worth it. Click to your heart's content!

Later that afternoon, we prepared for the Balinese New Years festival. The streets were packed full of spectators of different ages waiting and watching for the procession to begin. Large giant puppets called Ogoh Ogoh's were paraded down the streets followed by Legong dancers and musicians. The Ogoh Ogoh's are created to scare off the evil spirits or bad influences and afterwards these beautiful puppets are burned. The children were having a blast carrying the smaller Ogoh Ogoh's while the bigger puppets were supported on bamboo platforms by teens and older men. The puppets were created by many of the youth groups in each community and they proudly paraded them throughout the streets. I had a hard time believing that it took some of them only 2 to 3 weeks to create those ornate colorful puppets. I am truly impressed! It was truly serendipity to have picked this time frame to visit Bali again and witness this ancient tradition in their culture.

So today is
Nyepi which means "to observe silence" - we were forewarned that we had to stay indoors and not wander around town. This is officially a Balinese Holy Day. As tourists, we are expected to remain indoors, shine no light, use no electricity and no loud noises. Basically, a nice day to reflect, read, slumber, write....etc. Something we westerners have a hard time doing sometimes. I loved it. Silence all day with the exception of visiting quietly with my friend and travel buddy B.

So, dusk is soon to arrive and I sit here looking out towards this beautiful temple I can see from my bedroom window. The sky is starting to turn pink and purple and being silent for a full day was a good for my soul. Nyepi (Quiet Day) is soon to end and it seems everyone did observe respectfully.

However, did the chickens get the memo? I think not...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Lotus PondLotus Pond
Lotus Pond

... a beautiful pond of Lotus blossoms

BeautyBeauty
Beauty

...is found in even the muckiest of water.




12th March 2013

I so enjoyed your Nyepi blog today!
The scaffolds were being built when I was there. A friend was planning to send me photos of the puppets and ceremonies but he didn't get back to Ubud to work. Your photos and descriptions are very meaningful to me. Thank you so much! I feel as tho I was there too! I've been invited for Nyepi 2014 & can't wait. My homestay was up the hill from Starbucks (no I didn't go into Starbucks!) I much pefer the cafes on the street for coffee. Can recommend two cafes for lunch or dinner: Bali Yoga and Savannah Moon! I've been to Hanoi & Haalong Bay, Vietnam; also Burma. I have a son living in Cambodia & have been all over Cambodia & Thailand with him. He has a son & financee in Dumaguette, Phil, which is why I spend time there each year. I taught Engish for several years thru Global Volunteers all over China & stayed in a village on Hainan Island with Chinese friends last Feb, was quite an experience! Thanks aqain, your blog was special to me. Have a beautiful day in peace & harmony. cookie
17th March 2013

Greetings from Bali
Hi Cookie, I can definitely send you some pictures of the Ogah Ogahs if you like! The festival was amazing and I was so lucky to have picked March to come here =) I'm looking forward to Thailand, Vietnam and Myanmar in 2015! I hope you don't mind my picking your brain for ideas and inspiration? haha.... My family is originally from Mindanao and I do love the Philippines too. I've been to Bohol and its my favorite island of all. If you get a chance to go back soon... make a trip to Bohol because you will not regret it! ARe you on facebook? If so, please send me a friend request (Liza Lamparas) and you can see some of my Bohol pictures! Thank you again for the tips on cafes! Peace and Harmony to you too =)

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb