Oh Rats...!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After last night i felt that i had to write down what happened!

I'm currently in Ubud (bali), which is really amazing. Loads of art gallaries and very arty and creative with loads of nice cafes etc etc etc....

Anyways, last night was my 2nd night in Ubud and earlier in the day i had decided to find new accomodation to stay in, and found somewhere dirt cheap (2.50 gbp/night) so checked in....

went out for a few drinks last night (and witnessed a head on moped crash involving 2 locals, which was pretty horrible - but i think they we're both ok...it didn't appear to be too serious, maybe just broken bones)....but back to the story.

so i get home, and go to sleep. Thank fuck i put up the mosquito net that was above my bed (i'd tucked it into the sides of my bed...)

at about 2am i got woken up from this really strange unfamiliar noise...i'm used to sleeping with small gecko's in my room (they do this weird clicky thing) but i could tell instantly that this was some other, bigger animal. The lights were still off and i was following the noises in the dark, and could tell them were coming from above me....i think i fell asleep again at that point...

But then, the 'animal' fell from above (there was a beam running across the roof of my room which they must have fallen from) on to my mosquito net, fully squealing and rushing about and causing the mosquito net to dip down from the weight...i've instantly jumped up (its still pitch black) and as thats happened they've ran over the net and fallen beside my head (the other side of the net, but still pretty much on my pillow and an inch from my head)...so theres me having no idea what i'm dealing with, shitting my self, while i can feel animals rushing around by my pillow and squealing real loud....

I reached and turned on the light and saw that there were two massive rats, who were fighting with eachother on my own bed!!!

The next 30 minutes was spent (armed with a peice of wood) half trying to protect myself from the filthy fuckers getting too close to me (they're fast and sneaky little bastards) and at the same time trying to get them out of the room (which was impossible, as the front door to my room was raised, so for them to get out, they have to climb over a big step before getting outside).

I had no idea what to do, and began weighing up my options.... so i decided to see if the bathroom was sealed from the main room and then maybe i could sleep in there for the night, while the rats enjoyed the comfort of my double bed. As i entered the bathroom, i was greeted by the BIGGEST lizard i've seen since i've been away (maybe a foot or more in length)...so my only other option was to sleep outside on the porch (and get eaten by mozzies, plus if there were rats inside, im sure there are some outside....)

In the end i decided to walk over to a friends room (who was staying near by and had a spare bed), so i walked over in the rain, almost got chased down an alley by a stray and aggressive dog, and managed to wake her up and crash there...My friend had also had a bad night, with cockroaches on the bed (which i ended up staying on) and a leech in her bathroom! So at the end of the night i managed to get to sleep at around 4, soaking wet and with the sweet melody of cockroaches in my ears!

So that was my night....u may think its all good and beautiful where i am (which it is) but if u start feeling jealous, just think how nice your bed and clean room is, while i have 2 rats falling onto my bed from the skys, and sleep with lizards in my bathroom and cockroaches by my side!

Hope your all well.

Over and out.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb