Twice in one day?!?


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
July 8th 2008
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So it is 8:20 in the evening and we are about to go get dinner. We have just had the wonderful experience known as Traditional Balinese Massage. Yes, twice in one week! This was the real deal erasing any memory of the heinous crime against humanity that took place earlier this week.

Ubud is a great place. It's a Little Europe in Indonesia as Steph refered to it today. Europe on $50 a day that is.

After spending our day researching which volcano we should climb we have settled on Gunung Batur. They say the hassle getting there is horrible but the views at sunrise make it all worth it. We may not be in contact for a few days as I am not quite sure what internet access is like on the top of volcanos around here. Hopefully when we get back to civilization we will be able to post a few more pictures for you. When I say the connections here are painfully slow I am not exaggerating. This afternoon I fell out of my chair when I nodded off waiting for a picture to post, hit my head on a large rock which then caused a small landslide under which we were burried alive. No worries, all is well after the massage!

until next time




Advertisement



8th July 2008

Finally Happiness in Bali
Sounds like you two are finally having the time you were looking for. Hope it keeps up. Eric please don't "lose" the pictures in the volcano. I am sure everyone besides me is looking forwarding to seeing them. Be safe and enjoy, miss you both. Love Aunty Donna, Mich and Nick
8th July 2008

Still the little clown
Eric your flare for dramatics still entertain me. Love you much "Mother"
8th July 2008

the massage is, indeed, the message
All I can say is that massage 2x a day sounds like a dream...can't wait to hear about the volcano!
9th July 2008

I really think PBS should do a documentary called "How Many Brooks Teachers Does it Take to Cover the World?" It would be a big hit and probably start a major trend in the world of teaching.
10th July 2008

Batur
There´s a great hotel right on the crater rim with fantastic views and excellent food (back then). Almitra and I got lost on the way down from the volcano. We met a barefoot chap carrying a box filled with coca cola. He appeared from the mist almost magically and said, ´´you lose for the path´´, then led us back down. Almitra and I have used that phrase ever since, in many contexts, including our own! Remember guys: - on Batur, don´t lose for the path! mike
10th July 2008

food, massage, volcano
You've roused my jealousy for your travels. Please more description of geological and gastronomical delicacies.
11th July 2008

Volcano
Hi, Well I'm sure your volcano trip was an amazing adventure. . It may be time for another massage after the trek there. We will all be awaiting your journal and photos of your venture. enjoy and safe travels. Lucille

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb