Our Asian Adventure -Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Sanur
May 18th 2011
Published: May 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So since mark last blogged what’s been going on?? The Ozi Inn has been running at full capacity so as usual Mark has been exhausted most days. The one thing for us to look forward to being our Asian Adventure meant that we had a lot to do even before we packed. As Mark had handed in his notice to Sunny, who was not angry but a little upset by Marks departure a replacement had to be found. After some consideration and deliberating Sunny asked a 31 year old Italian guy who had been at the hostel for some months if he would like the job. Mark and I wondered if this was such a great idea considering that Gianluca’s English was a little on the poor side but it’s Sunnys’ business so we let him make the decision. The next problem was where we were going to live when we returned from our trip. Mark had no inclination to want to come back to the hostel and neither did I. However, paying rent on a place for several weeks when we wouldn’t be living there seemed a total waste of money too. In the end a couple who have been friends of ours for some time were saying how they were looking for a place but had yet managed to save enough for a bond. My masterful mind soon realised the solution to our problem, rent a place and let Andy & Jen rent it whilst we were away. So what if we were subletting? Small catch but hey hopefully all will be well. So the hunt commenced, I am going to cut a very long and agonizing story short, lets just say that Mark threw a few tantrums and his faith in the real estate sector will never be restored. I maintained faith and we were very lucky to come across a beautiful 2 bed town house in Mount Lawley just outside the city which we can now call home. New address to follow 
With moving comes stress and ultimately a few things go astray in the move which you know you have packed. For us those few things we can’t find including Marks wedding ring will have to wait because the day we finished moving our stuff in we were also getting on our flight to Bali to start our adventure. The worst part about leaving was not saying goodbye the Ozi Inn but some of the amazing people we have met. Christie, we met just a few days after arriving in Aus, she has been the girl who I have drowned in wine with and danced on the tables with for the last year, the best friends I left behind are all rolled up in this one Canadian girl. Both Christie and I have said goodbyes to some people in the last year who we have considered friends but saying goodbye to each other was going to be a whole new story. This time Christie would be leaving too so by the time we returned from our adventure she will be in the UK before heading home. Standing outside the hostel our bags loaded into the van and our friends gathered round, some we will see again it began to dawn on me that it really was as cheesy as it sounds the end of an era. We said our goodbyes and Christie and I sobbed and hugged before waving goodbye blubbing as all good girlfriends do. I know I’ll see the crazy Canadian again but what will I do when I get back to Aus? Who will I dance on the tables with??
So, we make it to Bali, I had felt pretty rubbish for a day or two prior to the flight but put it down to stress, moving and packing. The morning after we land in Bali I have the sore throat from hell, a quick wander around the village Mark locates some Fisherman’s Friend and I locate the bed. The next morning I wake up with a blocked up nose and a sore throat, brilliant. Onto the Berrocca, Panadol Cold & Flu, Olbus Oil and Fisherman’s friend! The next morning a cough too just to add to my suffering, those of you who know me as a smoker would say that I was bound to get a cough, I’ll have you know that I stopped smoking when we got to Bali, despite the cost of a pack being $1.50! So I have been determined not to let the cold get the better of me, and continue to quit smoking. Once Mark and I had caught up on some much needed sleep we decided to employ one of the annoying ‘You want transport?’ men mentioned on our previous visits to Bali to take us out for the day. This is our third time in Bali, we are now in Sanur, we have never been to any of the famous Temples or to the Volcano Mt Batur so Mark agreed a price of 400,000 Rupiah down from 500,000 Rupiah so about $40 to drive us to the Gunung Kawi Temple, then the Volcano and back. When Mark was negotiating he asked the guy if he had a nice car, from the back it looked ok from where we were. Our driver collected us at 10am, as we stepped into the vehicle a Toyota minivan of sorts it was obvious that this was not ‘a nice car’. No seat belts, which are a must as you’ll know if you’ve ever been on the roller coaster ride of your life that is any street in Bali. As the engine started, the smell of car fumes filled the car and I knew this would be one of those interesting days that would give me the hump initially, only to be laughing about it by the end. We set off on our adventure, bouncing about, sweating with the lack of decent air conditioning and being poisoned at the same time. It would take us almost 2 hours to reach the Volcano via the temple so we had quite a bit of time to fill with people watching. Some things we noted on the journey a man driving a large heavy goods vehicle wearing a motorcycle helmet, nice to see someone in Bali is taking their road safety seriously, hundreds of kids driving aimlessly along the road on scooters with spray painted clothes signaling the end of the school year, we almost collided with a few of them, not taking road safety seriously obviously a lesson yet to be introduced into the curriculum. A man totally naked having a wash in a stream literally on the side of the road. We stopped at a petrol station, Mark exited to grab a couple of drinks whilst the driver filled up on more petrol to poison us some more. When he got back in he started the engine and began to drive off not noticing that Mark had yet to get back in. Thankfully he could just about hear my squeaks over the noise of his engine as I pleaded through my cold for him to stop. With Mark on board we made it to the Temple.
We paid our 10,000 Rupiah each to go in and wrapped sarongs around us to cover our legs. Gunung Kawi is an 11th Century Temple it was beautiful and tranquil, the statues, flowering plants, fish and surroundings were everything I had imagined it to be. We explored every level of the temple clicking away with our cameras, as I walked up to where they perform the ceremonies for cremations I hadn’t realised that the floor was covered in a thin layer of silt. It was a real Tom & Jerry moment as my flip flops lost their grip beneath my feet and began to move in all directions, I managed to steady myself just before Mark called after me and as I turned my head my flip flops moved once again and I fell to the floor with Mark standing above me. You’ll be pleased to know I managed to save my camera from hitting the floor it was just my well cushioned left butt cheek and thigh that felt the impact. Mark helped me up without falling over himself and I looked at what was now a very wet sarong and shorts.
As we left the Temple I shoved the sarong into the basket with the others before bundling back in our fume infused minivan. We set off again, through the countryside, I was pleased that we had had our breakfast early as the pot holes began appearing in the roads and our stomachs in our mouths. The fumes all the while filling the van and I can safely say I felt sick as a dog. The potholes continued for 45 minutes or so as we climbed Bali, at points I wondered if we would even make it up some of the hills, the noise of the engine screaming, more fumes pumping into the cabin and Mark pointed out that his feet were getting quite warm being placed over the engine. Once at the summit we paid 30,000 Rupiah to see the Volcano, damn cheek even though it is only a few bucks. Our driver took us to a restaurant in order for us to take pictures. Inside a number of pots with various dishes surrounded by flies welcomed us. I was not hungry in any way after our drive, and I think you would have had to pay Mark to eat what was on offer. The view was beautiful with Mt Batur sleeping peacefully it was difficult to believe what devastation it would cause to this tiny island if it was to awaken. We took our pictures and grabbed a drink before heading back out to our driver. He seemed a little puzzled as to why we hadn’t eaten at the restaurant, we told him we weren’t hungry rather than the truth and settled back into the deathtrap. The drive back was much faster thanks to the fact that most of it was downhill! We thanked the driver and paid him his fee. Once inside the safety of our villa we fell about laughing at yet another death defying journey in Bali before a well needed nap. So not too much to report from Bali, we’re very much looking forward to Thailand, especially the Tigers and Elephants!!! Just for our worried parents, yes we are taking our Malaria tablets.
Miss you all.
Mark & Verlie


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 59; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb