Day 2 - Busy day and lots of walking


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Sanur
January 3rd 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We slept in today until about half eight and then headed over to breakfast. My hubby loves anything remotely connected to a buffet, so breakfast is always a big deal to him and to a lesser extent my daughter, I can take it or leave it, I rarely do a buffet justice or get my money's worth. I do love the omelets the guys at the egg station make, but after a big stuffed omelet, I'm only good for a piece of toast and a few cups of coffee.

We had a meeting with our wedding planner (Bali Wedding Butler) booked for 10.00am, which unfortunately was cancelled at the last moment and rescheduled to the following day, so we headed back to our room and changed into bathers to have a swim.

Just before lunch, we went to the Moonlight Bar so our friend Linda could braid my daughter's hair and hubby and I took went for what was meant to be a little walk and ended up being a long walk. We strolled along the beach boardwalk intending to deteor through to Danau Tamblingan to go and change some money. We overshot the turn off and didn't realise until some 20 minutes later, so we turned back and eventually made it to Danau Tamblingan.

Our first priority was to change some dosh because without that we couldn't stop anywhere to buy a cold drink. Our first attempt ended poorly when on final count we realised the dude had tried to rip us off IDR300,OOO. Fortunately our $200 was still in his grimy mitts and I was able to quickly remove it and we left in a hurry. The next money changer was fine and honest and we will go to him again when we're in the area.

We stopped at the Piccadilly bar to cool down and quench our thirst. Hubby had a large cold bintang and I had a mixed juice. It was so good I downed it and ordered a second straightaway.

We made our way back to the Moonlight Bar where we ordered a late lunch. I had a delish prawn curry and hubby had a pizza.

We had a meeting with the functions guy at our hotel that we were running late for and we rushed back to see him, but he had already been and gone. I felt so bad knowing he'd come to see us and we weren't there. The meeting was rescheduled for Monday at 10.00am.

We relaxed a little, swam and had a few bintangs. Hubby cracked open his duty free JD and afterwards fell asleep, what a party pooper. I checked out a few restaurants to try for dinner. I'd heard about Jepun (meaning frangipani) Restaurant that does a free pick up and drop off and the food is good. We couldn't get through to organise a pick up so we just made our way there in a car from the hotel. Unfortunately once we got there it turned out they were full.

We took a short stroll down Danau Tamblingan and went to the Legong Restaurant. It was a beautifully set out place with small ponds filled with Koi around the restaurant and turned out that we had arrived during the intermission of the Legong dance, what luck!!! my daughter was pretty happy.

The food was delish, I had a spicy grilled chicken dish with a hot sambal sauce and rice. Hubby had a seafood kebab with nasi gorend and my daughter had fish and chips.

After having some photos taken with the balinese dancers, we headed back to our room as we were all exhausted.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb