old balls OR i dont love lovina.


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Lovina
February 25th 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post



So Lovina, this town sucks. Actually i have had just about enough of Bali, i am leaving tomorro for Java...maria was right, 2 weeks in bali is more than enough.

I guess the thing about this island, is that it is a tourist trap, except they have just a slight problem. Hardly any tourists. So everywhere you go you are begged for "transport" or "buy necklace" or "go snorkling" or something that they offer. This is no different from most 3rd world countries designed for tourism, like thailand. But the thing is, thailand has tourists. So if you say no to them, they move on to the next tourist. Here in bali, they push and they push until you sign up for a stupid snorkling trip that lasts all day that cost you your whole daily budget when you didnt even wanna go to in the first place.

Which brings me to the story of the day to which i have titled 'old balls'

Ok so to avoid offending anyone, say over the age of 60, i suggest a warning for this entry. adult content? no.....elderly content. viewer discrecion advised.


I get picked up for my scuba trip. I am somewhat hesitant, not wanting to really go, and dissapointed i caved into the pressure of 2 very persistant scuba touts.

I get on the bus, and i have to do a double take, as at one point i thought i had accidentally gotten on a seniors nursing bus. Nobody is less than twice my age.

These arent regular old people either. They are very UGLY old euorpean people. So with nobody to talk to i just try and picture anything else. This guy with no shirt on sits beside me an acts like i am not even there, resting his sweaty back on my arm, which leaves me hugging the window, acting like his sweat will give me aids, the whole trip.

We finally get there, and to my dismay, this rather buxom 80 year old just wips her shirt and bra off and changes into her 2 piece. UGH! OLD BOOBS! i say in my mind, wishing i had myles or matt with me to share my inner laughter/disgust with.

We take off, do some snorkling, and then get back on the senior boat to the next island, when the same sweaty back old guy gets up and turns his back to me...to which i notice a lovely brown streak running down his old, old legs. OLD POO! i say once again, wishing my immature friends were here to share my anguish with.

OK, so after some fantastic snorkling, we head back, pretty sweet view i say to myself, just before looking down at another old man with his old legs spread apart, wearing a speedo that is way to small for him. and yea.....theres a them to this paragraph. as i mutter to myself....old....balls.

damn.


Advertisement



25th February 2008

sorry thats *theme to this paragraph. darn no editing allowed.
25th February 2008

Tourism
I think Bali's Tourism still is taking a hit from the bombing in Kuta. That was the goal of the people who did it (according to my driver there it had to do with their very corrupt gov of Indonesia). I think the best thing to do in Bali is prob in Ubud or going villaging, wish I could have been there with you to make the time more laughable. Love MAr
25th February 2008

...dear...god...
26th February 2008

Yep...two weeks is enough in Bali!
We would agree with your comments about the touts on Bali...very annoying. They do not take no for an answer and one of us even got hit when we ignored a vendor wanting to sell us something. See our blog, http://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Indonesia/Bali/Ubud/blog-242279.html, we had 4 fights in 5 days in Bali. The tourist drop off, in our opinion, has more to do with the vendors/touts of Bali rather than the bombings we heard so many people saying they would not go back due to the heavy handed pressuring of touts and vendors. Ubud was just as bad with the hotel owners really taking the p**s with prices for fan rooms and the people were so rude. It's such a shame because Indonesia is a nice country!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb