Kuta


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
July 7th 2006
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So basically Kuta is the new Koh Tao; Just with a lot more people (mostly surfers and Australians). There is everything and nothing to do here on Bali. It is a fairly good sized island with lots to see, yet it is incredibly easy just to hang out on the beach, surf and swim, lounge by the pool, eat good food, and then go dancing at night and never be more than 10 minutes away from where we are staying. The people here are all really chill, fun to meet and hang out with and are always up for whatever, I mean we are all here with one aim: just to BE here in Bali. Though we do sometimes get out of Kuta with the occasional trip to Dreamland (a gorgeous beach surrounded by cliffs), and Uluwatu (a major surf spot for the people who want a challenge and is on a nice reef). On our last trip to Ulu we had some friends out there jumping and hopping over the reef to get to the waves and as they surfed I made my way with my sweet blue mask and ever Cooler neon green snorkel and jumped through the waves and tried not to be bashed into all the amazing coral that abounds there. So with my mask in place I floated around for 30 minutes gazing and marveling at the amazing fish life including eels, stone fish, weird crabs, leaf fish, puffers, and unicorn tangs. I guess it's always been a little obvious that I was meant to be in and under the waves rather than riding them, though surfing is still a lot of fun.
And yesterday at Dreamland we were surprised to find that there were waves, and lots of them, the freaky mental type. I mean this was nuts to the extreme. Imagine being in a wave pool at a water park and times that by 100 and you have a rough idea of what it was like. Waves colliding into one Huge one and then crashing down on us only to be followed by another 4. It was non stop the entire time we were there. And not only was the size crazy, but the waves wouldn't make up their mind on where they wanted to go, first straight in, then changing to the left, then coming from all sides and smashing down at different times. It was a lot of fun to jump around in and dive under, but then the really strong rip current comes in to grab unsuspecting swimmers and drags us toward the rocky center at the middle of the sandy beach. So with only a few scrapes from being tossed and mangled through the washing machine waves we enjoyed watching surfers eat it and soar off their boards after a good run and do little tricks in the air. On the way back on our rental scooter I had to manage driving on the other side of the road, crazy Balinese people, lots of cars, traffic jams, not tipping over with Rachel on the back, and being in the dark to make the 40 minute journey safely back to Kuta. Well after a few close calls and a few lost hairs we did make it and then found the best Thai restaurant right down the street that we unfortunately have never discovered/tried. The food was great and with my appetizer, drink, and main course came to a whopping 2 dollars.... yes this is why I love traveling... great food for amazing prices.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

'Celsius with Love''Celsius with Love'
'Celsius with Love'

free drink after spending too much money at department store sale


16th July 2006

So You Think You Can Travel...
Hey, I just wanted to let you know that I've taken up the duty of keeping EVERY episode of So You Think You Can Dance so you can watch it when you get back. After visiting your fam, I discovered that some of the ep's got deleted at your house -but NO FEAR!, I am here. I've got them all on my TiVo and I'm putting them on my comp and making DVD's for ya! No worries, I know I'm friggin amazing!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb