Breaking in Bali (April 15-22, 2006)


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
April 15th 2006
Published: May 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

What can I say about Bali? I went there with 2 very good friends, Lila & Annabel. It was a fabulous trip with some negatives here and there. The weather was wonderful and the beaches are great. Spent a lot of time on the beach, but also took in the sites and the culture. I was surprised to to discover that there is a lot of Indian influence in Indonesia (hence the "Indo" part). Everything in Indonesia is cheap, however if you are a foreigner, expect to be taken for a ride when it comes to the cost of anything. I hate bargaining, but I became a pro at it by the 2nd day, otherwise you end up being ripped off left, right and center. The starting price of anything always ended up being more than what you would expect to pay for it in Canada and I made it known that I could get it for cheaper back home, so why would I buy it from them. For example, women were trying to sell pineapples for $10 each. Crazy huh? Also on a few occassions when something was purchased, be it at a store or taking a cab, the wrong change was given and it happened one too many times to be a mistake. We would literally count our change about 3 times just to make sure we weren't being ripped off. On a positive note, the food was mmm... mmm... good. The people were friendly, however it was because most of them wanted something in return and I guess it's how they make earn their living, but it got annoying after a while. A foreigner cannot walk down the street without being offered a ride (for money of course) every few steps. Also while walking, it's not uncommon to have the locals approach you to enter their stores and take a look, cause they will give "good price for you". Although the beaches were fabulous, it was not the best beach experience for me. Literally every few minutes we would be approaced by vendors to buy their items or services. "Massageeee, plait your hair, manicure, pedicure..." The funny thing is that saying no once was not enough, as they will sit beside you or just keep asking you over and over again. Overall, the impression I got from Bali is that it's all about money. They don't care where your from or what your financial situation is, it's all about getting as much as you can, even if it means ripping someone off. And it was with everyone we encountered, not just a few people, but everyone. That aside, it was a good trip, because I got to experience a new country and culture and spent some much needed time with 2 very good friends that I had not seen in a while. Honestly speaking I have no intention of returning to Bali because of the the not-so-good impression I got from the locals, however I haven't crossed Indonesia off my list entirely, as there are other areas I would like to visit. I've attached a few pics. Still waiting on more Bali photos from friends, but until then enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb