Where am I and what day is it?


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
April 1st 2009
Published: April 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I'm still reeling from the fact that its Wednesday. You do the math and help me figure this out. If I started in Mpls at 9 am on Mon March 30th , took a flight to Chicago that then left at 12:10 to Seoul Korea that lasts 13 hours and is a 12 hour time difference away, then fly another 7 hours to Bali and add another time zone what day and time will it be when I arrive? I don't think they teach that in algebra class!

While I was waiting in Chicago to catch the flight to Seoul I decided I should fire up that little invention called an ipod to see if when I downloaded music the day before that it actually worked! When I turned it on and started listening to my music in the midst of the chaos that was happening around the gate I suddenly realized why everyone gets so addicted to these little things! It was so comforting to be able to shut out the world and just sit back and relax. Although on the other hand it also cuts you off from the rest of the world which isn't always a good thing. But in this case it was. I forced myself to keep walking back and forth in front of the gate area to prepare my tush for the next 13 hours. I found it interesting that they had drug sniffing dogs that we had to pass by prior to boarding the plane. Hmm, what's that all about? I thought that only happened in foreign countries.
We were flying a 747-400, the kind that has the upper deck for the 1st class customers. Now that would have been nice to see. So I wander back to row 49 and get settled in for the flight. The guy on the aisle ends up being a snorer and the woman next me wants to talk! At some point in the flight she gets up and finds a different seat so I'm able to contort myself to lying down in two seats to sleep. I ended up watching 3 movies; The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Changeling and Australia. I will admit that I slept through parts of the last two but I have no idea for how long. Maybe its because there were two little babies that were also crying through out the flight (one of them had to be only a few weeks old). However none of that bothered me because I was on my way to paradise!
We landed in Seoul around 4 pm (now does that make it Mon or Tues at this point?). The airport was really nice, had lots of shopping , although who shops at Hermes, Chanel and Fendi at the airport? I stopped at the Korean Cultural center and made a picture using some old form of stamping. It was pretty interesting. I met a woman and her daughter that were on their way back to Canada (go figure!) after living on an island off of Thailand with her husband for the past 4 months. They had sold everyhing and just hung out there for a while. Their 6 year old ended up attending the local school even though she didn't speak any Thai. There 4 month visas were up or they would have stayed she said.

Anyway, I braced myself for the next 7 hours of my trip. Honestly its not my back that hurts but my tusch! finally figured out that I really could have used my donut for this trip. Luckily the flight wasn't that full and so I ended up taking over an entire row and lying down for about half of the flight until a woman from the row in front of me decided that she wanted to commandeer 2 of the seats to do the same thing. This time we didn't have indivdiual screens to watch movies on so it was either Twilight or nothing....I opted for nothing.
We landed aroudn 12:30 am but what day is it? I had told the hotel that I was checking in on the 1st but when I found the driver that should have been taking me to the hotel he told me that was the 31st and my name wasn't on his list. He ended up getting a buddy to drive me to the hotel which was only 10 minutes away. But then we went through the same ordeal where they didn't have my name registered. People, do you know how long I've been up and in the same clothes? Just get me a room please. They found my name under my roommates name finally and I think I got into my room around 2 am. The room is beautiful! The bathroom is all marble and the size of my office. So after taking a shower to get rid of the travel dust I settled down for a good night's sleep....with the help of a little ambien. But let's emphasis, little here. I woke up around 7 am. I thought it was suppose to guarantee me a full 8 hours of sleep. Oh well, after unpacking a little it was onto breakfast and exploring this paradise.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb