Final day here, the last supper


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
March 4th 2009
Published: March 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

While sitting in Ubud and enjoying it thoroughly, I considered staying there until I needed to leave. It would have been so simple to relax, eat good food, experience some healing or yoga and take a taxi to the airport for my departure. As nice as that thought was, it never felt right. Thus, I set out on a shuttle for Sanur and my friend Mary's. My friends who I had crossed paths with several times, Steve and Elizabeth from Canada who were to leave a day or so before, showed up moments after I arrived at the Perama bus spot. Marti from Dewa's took me with my backpack on his motor bike so it was a lot cooler arrival than walking with all that load. Shopping does tend to increase the volume and weight of the pack.

They were on the same bus to Sanur so we chatted along the way. Once we arrived, I had intended to get off the bus and buy a ticket for the continuation to Kuta in two days. However, with the mini-assault of people wanting to take me to their hotel or offering shuttle service, I forgot about buying a ticket. I gave
LunchLunchLunch

Dinner and Margarita\'s
them a brief overview of the layout on Sanur beach and the location of the market then headed off. A driver wanted Rp. 40,000 to take me into town. I knew I could get a bemo for Rp. 5,000 so he offered to take me in air conditioned comfort for Rp. 10,000 and dropped me at the entrance to the gang Mary lives on. Very cool.

The next morning was the coffee tour I wrote about. I was going to rent a motor bike later for a visit to Eddy and to get a ticket. When I asked Mary about the motor bike rental, she said she had to come this direction for a visit to her naturopath. Our schedules meshed so they dropped me.

My final visit with Eddy was, once again, very amazing. I think he worked on me for an hour and forty five minutes. Even with the pain of the foot reflexology, I drifted asleep. What a great session. When we finished, he asked if it was OK to take a photo of me. I'm posting a picture of us after the final session.

He said Dewa was bringing someone from the hotel for a session at 5:00. I was nearly certain it was Rori so I waited about 45 minutes for them to arrive. When Eddy called at 5:30, they were still at the hotel so I took off. Wished I could have seen Rori one more time.

Yesterday, I had checked into my hotel and wandered to an internet place. I realized I really needed food first. As I wandered back down the street to find a quiet warung, I heard my name shouted from the back of a motorbike. It was Rori! She found a hotel, dropped her pack and met me at the internet cafe.

What a perfect way to end my time in Bali hanging with her for the afternoon.

Now, I have about one hour before I start walking toward my lunch appointment. I'm meeting Susan who founded Jari Menari for lunch at 1:00. It's a hot walk of at least one hour and I was going to take a taxi. When I thought about the 36 hours of travel to get home, all the airplane sitting, I decided to walk and get some exercise. I'll take a taxi when I'm finished. My hotel is arranging a taxi to the airport at 5:30. I don't really need to get there that early but will check in, relax and hope to be early enough to get an exit row seat.

I leave my hotel at 5:30, my flight leaves at 8:00. I'll be leving here around 2:30 am Colorado time on March 4th and will eventually get home tomorrow around 7:00 pm Colorado time on March 5th.

What an adventure this has been! I'll be back for certain!

Ciao! Larry


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb