Bali R&R and Voodoo


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Denpasar
November 30th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yup. Bali. Beach haven. We are lucky with the weather and just got in ahead of a 10,000 delegate Globel Warming Conferance that starts on December 3rd.

We will miss most of the security that will be in place, with such measures as barbed wire across the roads etc. We still feel safe because whenever our vehicle goes into a parking lot security men scan the underneath for bombs. Ya never know if you are next. lol

First day on the the beach was R&R. Second day was an excursion to some shops and temples in the Eastern part of Bali.

It seems they believe alot in Black magic and Voodoo. I had a talk with our guide who seems quite adament that his family is cursed and his sister has been suffering blindness because of it. He was serious.

Each night we sit on the beach and look out at the stars. (W) I think of you when I do. I feel close...

Bali is orderly and polite. Everywhere I look I see things I have not seen before. Banners 40 feet high made of Bamboo and sloping over into a curve over the roads. Lots of wood carvings and stone work. All about Hindu gods and the like.

We went to a village and were able to go into a house where the people live in a traditional style environement. Each house has their own temple as well as a community temple.

Bali sells gasoline also in liquor bottles. I have a sneaking idea they are rum bottles and not JW. I am told they are for motorcyles only.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.437s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb