Gendong Gandhi Ashram, Candidasa, Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Candi Dasa
February 21st 2010
Published: February 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

The view from just outside my room.The view from just outside my room.The view from just outside my room.

What could be better? Out of the Bale, across about a metre of sand, down some steps and into the cool clear water. I swam twice a day.
I was just playing on the net and decided to see if there was an ashram in Bali and lo and behold, I found one.

The Gendong Gandhi Ashram sounded just the place for me. Away from it all, peaceful and right on the beach. Simple food, vegetarian with sea food - perfect, shared together as per usual ashram life with a few yoga lessons thrown in.

So that is where I have been these last four days. The people and the place is wonderful, simple (like me) and good for the soul. They have a really extensive library with all sorts of yoga, philosophy, Hindu and scripture books and I managed to read three. I purposely didn’t take my laptop so that I would truly be away from it all.

They also house a few orphans or children with parents who just can’t afford to look after them, and they are delightful. And there is also a small kindergarten on the grounds. I loved it.

Just a few photos to get you in the mood. Believe me, if you really need a break, this is the place.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

My delightful little bale.My delightful little bale.
My delightful little bale.

The inside was simple but all I needed. No fly screens, but they set me up with a mossie net and no a/c but the fan and the breeze from the sea made sleeping perfect.
Early mornin mist as a fishing boat comes in.Early mornin mist as a fishing boat comes in.
Early mornin mist as a fishing boat comes in.

I did have an offer to join one of the fishermen when they went out, but they leave at 4 a.m. and that is just a tad too early for me.


22nd February 2010

Paradise
You really know how to find little bits of Paradise on your travels. What a gorgeous place.
10th March 2010

Tell me more!
Hi, A friend of mine went back to Candidassa twice to stay in this ashram, in the 80s and I have wanted to stay there and go to Bali ever since. I emailed them about volunteering for a month, and they were very encouraging. SO, I may be there sometime in the next 3 months, April or May. Do you know when the hottest time is to avoid? Or when to go to avoid major insects? Do you need mosquito nets and is there a fan? I know it isn't air conditioned. Sounds wonderful to me too, time for a time out from the US. Nuff said. Would love to hear from you and any more tips, including costs. Thanks Wynette Albany, CA

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb