Hitting the wall...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
November 6th 2008
Published: November 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok I have hit the wall. I woke up today and I am completely sick of this place. It's time to go home but unfortunately this stinking course will not be done for another month. GRRRRRR!!!!!! What the heck was I thinking!

Let's see, I'm sick n tired of...

*Having to order food everyday

*Better yet, having to guess what the heck I am eating!

*Learning about DNS and DHCP servers

*All things relating to this course, even my pen!

*Little coffee cups. Dad you would hate this one too.

*The constant noise, come on people the cars in front of you will move once the stinking cow finally wakes up! Honking your horn to wake up the darn cow is futile since it's deaf! Get over it.

*The dirt! It's kinda defeats the purpose when they only sweep half the pile of garbage up to burn.

*The smell of smoke on my freshly laundered clothes and hotel linens! Wow why don't we bottle that and sell it!

I would like to be able to smell a flower, to sit in silence, to walk around town without being stared at (let alone have them try to undress me with their eyes). One word gentlemen get some f-ing sunglasses, they kinda hide the whole rabid dog look you have when you are doing that! I would like to be able to order food at a restaurant and know that I get to have more than one thing on my plate! You kinda get tired of eating just chicken jalfraze or curry and nothing else, lesson learned. It would be nice to hop in the car and drive myself where ever I want to go, even if I'm just sitting in traffic.

Yes for today I am ready to head home and burn my suitcase. For today I hate it here.

Tomorrow will be better, I hope.


Advertisement



6th November 2008

You're Completely Normal
I was so wondering when the "I hate it here" phase would hit you! Don't worry, next week or so you will feel better. Just get extra sleep this week and lay low! Be kind to yourself! What you are experiencing is completely normal. In fact, I felt it too when I lived in Israel! Here's some stuff I pulled off the web: The shock (of moving to a foreign country) often consists of distinct phases, though not everyone passes through these phases and not everyone is in the new culture long enough to pass through all three[1]: Honeymoon Phase - During this period the differences between the old and new culture are seen in a romantic light, wonderful and new. For example, in moving to a new country, an individual might love the new foods, the pace of the life, the people's habits, the buildings and so on. Negotiation Phase - After some time (usually weeks), differences between the old and new culture become apparent and may create anxiety. One may long for food the way it is prepared in one's native country, may find the pace of life too fast or slow, may find the people's habits annoying, etc. This phase is often marked by mood swings caused by minor issues or without appoarent reason. Depression is not uncommon. Adjustment Phase - Again, after some time one grows accustomed to the new culture and develops routines. One knows what to expect in most situations and the host country no longer feels all that new. One becomes concerned with basic living again, and things become more "normal". Reverse Culture Shock (a.k.a. Re-entry Shock) - Returning to one's home culture after growing accustomed to a new one can produce the same effects as described above, which an affected person often finds more surprizing and difficult to deal with as the original culture shock. Happy thoughts! Jen
6th November 2008

thanks i needed that :)
6th November 2008

yep, been there
Don't worry, it will pass. Keep yourself busy. Make sure you see something new every Sunday, so you can look back and tell people all the things you saw and did. :D You will have plenty of people here when you get home to help you through the reverse culture shock.
6th November 2008

Hope you feel better soon
Just remember that all your sacrifices are for a good cause. You! One day you will look back and realize it was worth it. Based on Jen's excellent explanation, it seems there is hope. Maybe on your day off, you can get together with some other people who might be there for training or work there and go to a restaurant that might appeal to you. It won't be the same as what you are used to, but hopefully it may help a bit. btw, I linked your blog to my blog. terekawan.blogspot.com I hope you won't mind. Best wishes for the days ahead.
7th November 2008

thanks tc, i'm sure i'll get over this eventually. i had a good night sleep so that's a big plus. :) reverse culture shock! great! well that's further down the road so no need to worry about that.
7th November 2008

Moving forward...
Well, it still looks the same but mentally I'm doing a little better. This weekend I've planned a small trip to the Red Fort and/or Lodi Garden. That should help. Maybe next week sometime I will visit one of my friends since they will be back from Nepal. BTW I have no problem with you linking my blog to yours, that's kinda nice. :)

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb