I love you cake....


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

There is a cafe in the Karol Bagh market that is located on the second floor of one of the many shops, and I have been wanting to go there for about a week. So after class today I took my camera and walked about 4-5 blocks to Cafe Coffee Day. You can sit out on the balcony and watch the market goers below. It was nice, and I was able to get a lot of pictures of the local people without getting stared at in return. 😊

The waiter came to my table and I ordered a latte (R 30 or $.50) and a piece of walnut cake. I was asked if I wanted chocolate on it as well, so I said yes. Who am I to pass up chocolate?

When the waiter returned with my order and written in chocolate on my slice of cake were the words "I love you." Just a little bit awkward but all the same very cute.

After I was done eating the cake and drinking my latte I headed out to the market. I just happened to pass the salon LOOK that one of my classmates, Yami, had recommended, so I stopped in for a pedicure and a trim. Let me tell you that was such a wonderful experience. The pedicure was one of the best ones I have ever had. The nail tech must have spent nearly an hour on my feet, and no my feet aren't that messed up! I did have a pedicure just before I left the states. The stylist did a great job on my hair. But one thing that I thought was interesting was when it was time to blow dry my hair the stylist actually had an assistant hold the dryer while curled and fluffed my hair. Apparently this is normal here because I was watching another stylist do the same thing. So Mom tell your hair dresser that she is working way to hard and she needs an assistant.

So for a pedicure, shampoo, cut and style I ended up paying R 750 which comes to $15.30. Talk about a bargan hunters dream come true!

Advertisement



3rd November 2008

How did it taste?
Gee, your outing sounded wonderful, maybe I need to go back to school! But you know, the most important question that your Dad has is . . . how was the cake?
3rd November 2008

That is cheap!
Less than $20 for a cut, style, and pedicure! That is awesome! I had the opportunity to pay $70 for a pedicure while in Key West. I passed on it. :) Congrats on passing your second test!!! I am so proud of you :D
3rd November 2008

What the?
Do you have feet or hocks? 1 hour??? WOW!!!
4th November 2008

Ha, ha, it seems that you already have a fanbase:-)
4th November 2008

Dad,
Yes the cake was very good.
4th November 2008

Sticker shock
Wow TC $70 for a pedicure...I'm glad it's not the case in VA
4th November 2008

M...
Yes the hour included my nasty feet and calves too. :P
4th November 2008

Did u visit again?
Hey Cake looks really cute... did u visit again to that cafe ?
4th November 2008

I haven't had a chance to go back to the cafe, but I'm sure I will return.
5th November 2008

Awesome!
I can't believe you are in India! What an awesome opportunity. I am not really a myspace user but will get on soon to chat and catch up on your adventures. (Jen gave me your blog info today)
6th November 2008

Big Smile!
Hi Larissa! OMG it's good to hear from you! To be honest I don't use myspace that much as well, but I will make sure that it gets checked more often then not. Hope all is well.

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb