Cooking Lessons


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tomorrow, someone is finally going to show me how to cook Indian food! I am really excited because learning to cook was on the top of my list of things to do while in India. I think if I know how to cook the food I'm eating here, I can then go home and cook it for my friends and family, which will allow me to share a part of my experience here that photographs and souvenirs could never do. It will be another one of the five senses of my experience that they can take part in. My family has a tradition of always preparing food from a different country on Christmas Eve. It started when we had exchange students from China and Mexico, and we had them prepare what their families would typically eat on holidays. I can't wait this until I will get to whip up some tasty Indian food this year! I think I will make my family eat with their hands too. It will definitely add to the experience.

I think we are going to make chicken tikka and some curries. I really want to learn how to do more. I want to know how to make chappati and dosas and lots of vegetarians food. I think I am going to try to have more people show me different dishes. Learning to cook the food myself is really a necessity because the closest Indian restaurant to my college is over ninety minutes away and I know I am going to really miss the food when I get back. It will be so hard going back to the bland food served in the dining hall at my university. And I'm am always looking for new ways to prepare vegetarian food, which Indian cuisine is perfect for.


I don't know what else the weekend will hold, but Bangalore never seems to disappoint. . .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 4; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb