October 22, Kolkata


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 22nd 2017
Published: October 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

October 22, Kolkata

I slept till 7, enjoying not having any schedule. Opening the window I saw people sleeping in the street and having bucket showers.
My first goal was to get a map. The hotel had none and wifi was not working so decided to take up offer from hotel to get an Indian SIM card for $17 per month.
Next I needed some more cash. Went to three ATM machines, did not get any money, no reason given, very concerning. As I came out a woman was begging for milk for her baby. I gave her 50 Rupees and she said she did not want it she wanted milk. She was so insistent that I followed her, she went to a store and asked for milk, and out came a large container of powdered milk for 500 rupees or $11 cdn. It was a surprise and I declined and walked away. Talking to another tourist the next day he said he did buy the milk, then snuck back to see the woman return the milk to the store to share the profits.
With the map I planned my morning walk to the parks across the street. Any street crossing includes danger as vehicles often totally ignore red lights, blasting past me. The parks are not maintained and are really just areas of bush. I eventually ended up at the Queen Victoria Memorial, wandered around the gardens which had some maintenance and also toured the museum in the building. Also went into St Paul's church next door.
It was about a 30 minute walk back, stopped in at a bank and used my credit card to take out a cash advance. Still no success until I read that 10000 Rupees was the max withdrawal, I had been trying to withdraw twice the amount.
Found a more regular restaurant, most are unbelievably dirty, and enjoyed a meal and a beer.
Spent time watching activity in the street and at one time had about 4 locals just watching me for a while, trying to figure out what to do with this white man.
Spent the afternoon blogging, then had a late supper and back into my room by10.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb