October 23, Kolkata


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 23rd 2017
Published: October 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

October 23, Kolkata

Another relaxing morning. Went for breakfast, I wanted the al la carte menu. When I was told there was none I got up to leave and they told me the buffet was complimentary. I had been told this was not the case by several staff, so was totally surprised, the rules seem to change constantly. I had a good breakfast and tipped well.
Then went for a walk along the main street just taking in the sights and sounds. Walked for about 3 hours, past hospitals, universities and many different markets. The temperature was 33C so I was hot by the time I got back. I took many little roads throughout, but with Google Maps I am never lost.
Met my room mate Chris from Portland.
Met Amanda and Amy from the G adventure tour and they showed me the way to get to the Mother Theresa home, so off I went for a 30 minute walk. The visit was well worth it, with some of the displays bringing tears to my eyes. Her simple bed room above the kitchen is one of the displays.
Met some of the other group members and at 6 , the 15 of us met our leader, Bhaboo. He gave us a 60 minute introduction then our group hit the streets, braving cars and beggars for a very nice Indian meal. It appeared as though most people are not going vegetarian. We will see how well that works.
We were back by 10 and I was in bed by 11.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb