October 21, Kolkata


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 21st 2017
Published: October 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

October 21, Kolkata

I had no plans today except to get to Kolkata.
First I had a leisurely breakfast on a rooftop terrace.
Then found a spot in the shade in the beautiful hotel garden and started to catch up on my blog. I now save every second paragraph so don't end up losing my connection due to inactivity. It appears to be working.
Had an early lunch, packed up and was ready for the 1 pm pickup.
Once at the airport there was no issue getting my ticket. I did however have problems getting my 55usd of Nepalese rupees exchanged. The exchange inside was on a staff change and was not able to help me for the 30 minutes I waited. Supposedly the outside bank was open but I was unable to get out even after talking three guards who all had suggestions. I left Nepal with my Nepalese Rupees.
My plane was delayed and no gate was shown. About 45 minutes late, there was an announcement to go to gate 1, still no change on the display.
The hour flight was pleasant, with views of the Himalayas.
The Kolkata airport is beautiful and new and surprisingly empty. I tried to exchange my Nepalese Rupees but no luck but a tourist over heard my request and offered to buy $45 worth which was great. When I walked out there was a fellow with my name on a sign. I was so glad I had prebooked my hotel transfer. The ride was about 45 minutes, and the size of the city and some of the buildings, and people everywhere. On the drive my young greeter was very much interested in our marijuana laws. We also discussed safety in the city, marriage and family in India, he loves taking care of his 90 year old grandparents. We also talked about racism, discrimination and poverty in India.
Hotel Lyttonn is old and a bit rundown but very nice. It appeared to be deserted and the entire evening I saw one other guest, only in the lobby.
Went for a two hour walk through the nearby markets and started to experience the real Kolkata. So many people, so many lights and sounds, so many stalls all selling the same things.
Only a few people approached me but they were very persistent, wanting me to come see their stalls. I did not go too far so did not get lost in the maze.
Had supper at 9, mushrooms and peas in a sauce, very tasty. The appetizer included onions and what I thought were green beans, they were chili peppers and I paid for that for at least 5 minutes, my mouth was throbbing.
I was back in my room around 10 just feeling very glad to be in my hotel.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb