2nd trip to Kolkata


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
January 26th 2006
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Am busy, busy, busy again... Staying about 35min walk from Sudder Street (where all tourists are). I am actually staying in the house where Mother Teresa stayed on her first visit to Calcutta. Just moved in there today (Thursday) as a girl from UK is going home tonight and she told me about it. It's much cheaper and it's with an Indian family which is cool. I have to walk through their sitting room to my room but it's great that I have use of that and the kitchen too. May as well live with them for a true experience! 2 French guys in same house.

Anyway, up until now I have been experiencing the 'true' India which I couldn't enjoy the last time due to sweating constantly and always running for shade, aswell as working most days. The weather is fab here. Like a nice day in Spain!! It's a Public Holiday here today so went for big walk exploring the streets and sights, in the sun.. Have a red nose now! It's lovely to just wander the streets and be amazed at how they live and also to see the wealthy part of it too - Am just back from a huge Shopping Centre with 2 girls from Galway and Uk girl (she wanted to go before leaves tonight), and I was amazed at how cheap the jewellery, Levis, Benetton etc was.. Will Most definitely be back there before go home! I may dress up more though as the people there were all dressed well! If any of you are planning on getting engaged, it's the place to come for rings!! Wow. You should have seen them. All about €500 plus.. Unreal..

Ok, back to what I have been at - I have been to 2 of the 7 schools so far - the one in the Dump and the school beside the canal. They absolutely loved the jigsaws and glittery stickers and the teachers in both schools couldn't believe I was giving them cameras (Thanks to McCauley's Chemist in CARLOW) to keep. One had tears in her eyes she was so happy. I was very touched. Got hugs for it.. They also loved the alphabet cards and other posters I took out. I still have to make more. Will be busy getting them copied and laminated as there are 2 rooms in 5 of the schools. Am going to 2 more of the schools tomorrow and will know then what day I get to go to the Sunderban Islands school with the Medical Team. Can't wait to go back there. It's SO different there.
Cant wait to buy the Art materials after my meeting with the Principle tomorrow and get that sorted too.
P.S. For those in Rutland Street School (Dublin), please tell 4th and 5th class (my old 2nd/3rd class) that the Counting book and Alphabet book they made were loved by the children in the 2 schools so far. Am getting them copied also. They are the books that won the school competition for Book Week, for our class. They will be very happy to hear that. Will get photos for them.

I have also been to Asha Niketan (The L'Arche Community) where I spent an hour the last time I was here. I brought out copies of photos from my last visit and they loved them. This is where handicapped men live and work. All of these (except one) have no family and many of them are there all their lives as have been abandoned. There are 2 houses and an Indian family live in each home with them. Their work is Art and Craft workshops.. They make amazing things from candles, tie-dye sheets, cards hand sewn and painted, paintings, clay holders for candles, wax paintings etc etc.. Beautiful work for a very small salary.. I spent an evening with them helping in the workshop and it was an amazing experience to see them at their work. At the end they have a Record book where they get a tick (or an x, in some cases!!) for punctuality getting up for class/work in morning, appearance, manners, dedication to work and not disturbing others and messing, bad language, etc.. Great incentive for them as their wage is based on this also. I am going on a Picnic with them Sunday and I cant wait as get to go on the main train from Sealdah (the big train station where I fed the platform dwellers last Easter, 2005 .. and near passed out with the heat) and see life outside the city.. Will be helping there 1 or 2 mornings a week with Handicapped children, who just come for the mornings. They need lots of help learning the basic things like tying a lace, washing hands, going to the toilet, etc.. Then on Thursday evenings I will be doing Art with the men. Had great day with them Tuesday. Amazing how people can communicate even though they cant speak the same language! Like a new form of Sign language!!

On my first day walking into Loreto Sealdah (one of the most prestigious schools in Calcutta), where Sr Cyril Mooney from Bray is the Principal, I was greeted by hugs from 2 of the teachers I met last March/April. I have sent out several worksheets to Laeticia during the last few months and when I walked in she asked me almost immediately for help. I was helping her for a while drawing up Schemes and giving her Ideas for Multi-levelled lessons which are to be based on one topic but for all classes!! God help her! Lots of work.. Will be on file for all new teachers in INDIA!! Crazy! I spent some time playing with the 'Rainbow' children also. These 250 children are the Non-fee paying children in the school who live here and all sleep around what is like a large Assembly hall. They are from the footpaths around!! The other 700 children's parent's pay fees and this covers costs for 'Rainbow' children also. A brilliant set up.. No Descrimination. Children who have reached a standard to be in regular classes teach the 'Rainbow' children in small groups or one to one, until they are able to go to regular classes also. Different regular class children are released to do this every hour of the day. One week, half of the class, teach 'Rainbow' Children and the next week they do Art and Craft, while the other half do the teaching. All classes participate in this, as part of the Curriculum.

Laeticia also organises 'The Bridge Foundation' which involves teaching children who live on the street, for about 2 hours after school. It helps them keep up with the work (English) as when they go back to their spot on the street their family dont know English.. I started that yesterday eve and it was brilliant - There was myself and another teacher with 8 kids sitting on a mat around the edge of a room. This is just an office in Laeticia's Parents house and it was about the size of the bathroom at home.. She also takes some in her Brother's house - anywhere they can get floor space!! Am doing this 3 evenings a week. They are beautiful kids.

I also hope to fit in an evening or 2 working in 'Shanti Dan'. This is one of Mother Teresa's homes where ladies who were wrongly imprisoned or beaten or badly treated stay. Really hope to fit this in between the schools and the rest.

NOW THE BIG QUESTION - For all of you who gave me Donations to use out here and those who gave Mam some, please let me know if you have any preferences on what you want me to use it for. For an idea on how far money goes, I Havent even used the €50 I changed in the airport yet!!
Choices are - Art and Craft materials for the schools and Other Resources (they had None til I gave them the jigsaws, cameras, stickers, etc..)
- Buying equipment for the Asha Niketan (L'Arche Community) in their workshops or taking them on a trip..
- Buying equipment for the Bridge Foundation to help the street children with their English or even to have a party for them some eve.
- Buying clothes for some street children and just handing them out... or for the Rainbow children in Loreto Sealdah.
The list is endless. Pleassssseeeeeeee, if any of you have specific preferences, let me know. I will let you know exactly what I did with your amount.

Ok, am going to head here now as busy day tomorrow and usually awake 5am when city starts coming to life. Sorry about all the Info - Saves me having to repeat it 100 times when I come home!! Enjoy the read...

Have to laugh now when I think about how nervous I was before I came. Love it here... in this weather. Will never come back between April and September again!! Great place to see.

The only bad incident I had was when I landed and went to get prepaid taxi at 2am - even though I was told it might be safer to wait til sunrise!! Wanted sleep!! I gave the man way-extra by mistake and he tried to hide it under the counter. Had to make him give it back - Have to be sooo aware! Then taxi had 2 men in it and I near had heart attack when one leapt back to get cigarettes in back window - Thought that was me done with !!! Survived til got to Hotel and got harrassed for tip. Nice Hotel man saved me!!. Having amazing time now. Will defo be back..





Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb