A successful and very rewarding trip..


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
February 11th 2006
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Am like Mrs 40 Coats here!!! Running round from one job to another, buttttt love it...

I have to present the teachers of the 5 city schools with all the equipment I bought for them, on Monday. A bit nervous! I got fruit, vegetable, flowers, parts of the body and Counting to 100 Posters for each school. I also made 8 Colours posters with labels for them and got them laminated. The teachers in one of the schools did these with me. They look great. Also giving each school a copy of the Alphabet book and Counting Book and the Alphabet cards that I got copied and laminated too. Am delighted with how well they turned out. Will take photos on Monday for those whose money I have used to fund that project. Taken lots already of when bought them..

On Tuesday I then go to the Sunderban Islands to deliver the posters etc to the 3 schools out there. Also have to take the jigsaws, stickers, cameras and Counting Card game there (as city schools got them already)..Have to stay a night there as the schools are so far apart - you can guarantee I will be covered in Mosquito repellent.. As those of you who I emailed from my last trip know - The mosquitos EAT me!! I had a swollen eye last week as got bite on my eyelid and have a lump on my arm now.. Legs covered in marks.. A nightmare at the moment as keeping me awake at night as they get so itchy..

In Asha Niketan, I have been helping in the Day Care Centre with the children in the morning and in the Art Workshops with the men in the eve. I am buying the men in one of the houses a washing machine as they are hand washing all at the moment. Also TOLD them I am buying equipment for the Day Centre as they hardly have anything. One day I had 2 kids and 2 jigsaws which had to keep swapping between them for 20 mins.. Want to get them the squeeze balls and other toys. They have Very little at the moment..

In the Bridge Foundation, I am buying books, folders, crayons etc for the 3 Centres and am also funding One of the Centres so that the children can be provided with Snacks every day before they go home. Other 2 Centres already being funded by someone else and get a snack. One Centre doesn't.. Saw their homes one day and was invited into them. One was smaller than the bathroom at home. I couldn't get over how EVERY single space was used so well.

Anyway, better go here as start at 6am tomorrow (Sunday) and crazy week ahead.. In village school 3 hours North of here yesterday.. Great to get fresh air (Well, fresh for here!!) for the day. Beautiful scenery and so peaceful.

On Friday am getting an overnight train (10.30pm Fri - 6am Sat) to Bodh Gaya (en route to Dehli) with 4 others for the weekend. Get back 7am Monday and straight to work.. Hope I sleep on the flight home as will be wrecked by then..

Better go here as shop closed and man kindly waiting on me!
Am just down the road from house, so no worries.

Take care and see you all soon,
Elaine..


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb