Working during my Easter Hols - in Kolkata


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
April 2nd 2005
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hope you are all well. I was very sick on Wednesday after I sent my last mail on Tuesday night. I think it was Over Dehydration from the heat on Tuesday and also from going Non stop since I got here. I never felt so sick in ages. Didn't eat a thing all day and was aching all over .. and I couldn't even talk (Not like me!!). Went to meet the Principle of the schools that day and to do work in 2 schools - I could barely stand. Fab schools though... considering they are in the slums!! I am AMAZED at their dedication to study, despite the fact that these are a first generation to go to school.. Was in bed by 8.30pm and Gobnait had to get me Electrolytes and Loads of water to rehydrate me. I couldn't even sit up in bed. Was a nitemare and didn't help that I was pannicking I was going to be like that for the rest of the trip... However, by evening the next day I had recovered.. What a relief. I had to cancel all plans with schools for Thursday and stay in bed. Trying to make up for lost time the last few days and heat killing me.. In constant sweat. Not good for you!

Yesterday I went to a school outside the city and there were beautiful parks on the way out. Then got to the school - had to walk along a wall for some of the walk into the slums, as there was a mucky deep stream down over one side and a swampy area on the other. I was careful with my steps so as not to fall!! The school was renovated in November so the walls were of lovely new, clean bamboo. The toilet was a nicer hole in the ground too!!! Ah no, they have a toilet in the school for staff - It's one of those ones where you are nearly sitting on the ground!!!! Great for the leg muscles!! The kids are beautiful. Imagine, they have Never seen any better so are happy with what they have (sleeping in Bamboo huts with plastic or old cloth on roof, NO beds Just Hard ground. Eating with Right Hand .. guess what left one is used for!!!!). It's amazing how happy they are and they have NOTHING... Makes you So appreciate the simple things in life..

Even the blocks of flats beside their slums are almost falling down.. Makes the ones beside my school (in Dublin) seem posh!! They were filthy black and horrible looking. Wouldn't step foot in them as would be afraid they would collapse..

Went to see an Art Exhibition by the L'Arche Community (One in Dublin, Kilkenny, Cork and Belfast too) when got back from school and changed clothes that were stuck to me!! Feel manky the whole time... Could NOT live here in Summer Months.. The Art was fabulous and the Handicapped men who did them all, were so proud of their work.

Today, Gobnait and I got up at 6am to go to 'Mother House' as knew there would be commotion with the Pope being sick.. There were loads of Camera Crew there and Sister Nirmala (who I was lucky to meet) was being interviewed. Lots there to see her as she is never in sight...

Sat in cafe for ages then before tour around one of the 'Loreto' schools - Amazing building in the city with 1400 girls attending. 220+ are Rainbow childen- those who live there as they are sleeping beside parents on street otherwise.. Parents can't mind them.. Some of them are there 8 years or so.. Some of the kids are ophans too..

After that I went to the Home where the L'Arche Community live. It is a family set up where 14 men live. They were all abandoned. Two families and their kids actually live with them and mind them and are there for them. They do fab Art workshops. Such a Happy place - One big family.

Went to see the Homeless being fed in the Train Station after that and nearly passed out with the heat. Had to sit for 2 hours afterwards... THEN went to see the Orphanage for Handicapped and Malnourished children and Babies. That near broke my heart. .. Won't talk about that now!!! Heading to draw pictures for schools now so Tally hooooo and hope you are all well.
TAKE CARE, EJ...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0141s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb