Kolkata - The City Of Joy


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
March 29th 2005
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I got ere at last after my UNEXPECTED trip to Bangladesh. That was an experience anyway and great to see as it is said that the poverty there is much worse than ere...

Got to Calcutta at 3.30am Saturday morn and was totally shattered as had 2 hours sleep since left house in Dublin at 5am Thursday... Was collected by Sanghita (teacher here) who took me to my hotel. I nearly cried when she left.. All I wanted was a shower and to get out of these clothes (since Thursday - when had to abandon plane in Bangladesh we were not allowed take any luggage with us, except what we had on the plane!!) - I looked into the bathroom and there was a BUCKET AND JUG. I realised then that it was safer to just go to bed..

Was woken after 12 when Jessica rang to come and collect her post - she is girl from Calcutta who is sponsred/adopted by a girl in Dublin, and I had taken letters out for her. Had to get up! Went to Mother House with one of the candles and spoke to some of the Sisters - all smiles...and there I was looking like a zombie.. I went back across road to "Hotel!!" for snack then before coming back with second candle. I got to meet Sister Nirmala which was amazing - She is said to be more famous than Mother Tereasa and will be a bigger Saint. I was sitting down stairs in the hall reading info when one of the Sisters came down to tell me one of the candles had cracked but that they would decorate it to cover cracks.. I then went into a side room to paint hard-boiled eggs with 2 German lads and 2 Korean girls. Good fun But I was struggling to keep eyes open. Did that for 2.5 hours, and then had a 30min nap before Easter Saturday mass in Mother House. I thought I was going to get sick as I was very dehydrated and could see a lad in front of me with a big bottle of water - nearly grabbed it from him. Had to keep sitting down.. The heat was unreal.. Well, GUESS how long the mass lasted???? TWO and HALF hours!!! Yes 2.5 hours.. Think that's me covered for a while now!!! All got cold drinking-chocolate then and hard boiled eggs (NO chocolate eggs!!) before bed..

Next day I got collected and taken to "Bhalobasha", which means 'House of Love', for the day. It is a home for the elderly and they get the best care possible. The home was beautiful. Met Gobnait (Cork girl) there which was great as had heard about her before I went. We took the 7 ladies and 1 man on a picnic (indoor one) which was brilliant. It was in a Centre inside big gates where there are 70 boys living for 8 months - they live there and are educated there before they are taken home - so hard as they are all about 7+! Had fun chatting to them too. Had ladies up dancing etc and had Indian meal. Can't get over how well they eat with their Right hand!! No mess or anything..

Monday I went to Tangra the school on the Dhappa Dumps. WOWWWWWWWW......... I was nervous going out as well as soaking in sweat - I can barely put up with the heat. I feel Manky!! The kids are beautiful there and I watched them do English lessons etc. I had to do my first talk then about Art lessons and organise equipment etc. It was amazing there. NO rats.. much to my delight.. Lots of scrawny pigs rummaging through the rubbish though! They are Brilliant for recycling .. piles of old flipflops, piles on plastic, bottles etc.. Never saw so much rubbish, YET it looked tidy!!!

After that I met Gobait and she took me to the tourist street (Sudder Street) where I was so happy to see white people.. We met a Kerry lady (Tralee) who Gobnait met before and arranged to meet her later for tea in 'THE Oberoi' Hotel. My God, I was in shock.... Walking up the street and you see people on paths begging, others sleeping on path, others cooking on path (their mats for sleeping on are rolled up until bed time), others washing etc .. and THEN there we are in a FIVE STAR hotel having a huge meal in the FANCIEST restaurant I have ever been in, for about €12.. Never saw a hotel like it before - puts the Irish Hotels to shame!! The most shocking thing here is the POVERTY in one area and beside it the rich area... Unreal.. I have hardly taken much photos as feel I am imposing on them. You have to see it to believe it SO no point taking photos..

Today I went to Topsia school which is beside a Canal. There were kids swimming in polluted waters and I was VERY tempted to join them as I was sweating so much. People here carry facecloths around with them the whole time to wipe away sweat.. Its a Towel you could do with at times!!!! 35+ Degrees in a city is not good... Spent the whole day in that school and am wrecked now. Moved to another hotel tonight with a lovely bucket too. Everything is so cheap here, Just had big meal with Gobnait and it wasnt even €2 each amd that was including dessert...

Anyway, going to head here as have work to prepare for meeting Gopal (over schools) tomorrow and also to talk to more teachers in 2 schools. Have been going non stop since got here.. Almost 11pm and need bed.
My phone is not working here so sorry if any have sent texts - so much for me topping up to text everyone..
Hope all are well at home. Fill me in on any news/gossip etc..
Take care and see you all soon.
Love from Elaine

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb