First trip to Kolkata ... Diversion


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
March 25th 2005
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Am in someone's house in Bangladesh ..... YES, BANGLADESH.... The weather was so bad (smog and rain - couildn't see ground) when we got to Calcutta that we couldn't land. One minute we were going down and the next the plane was heading straight up. The girl I was sitting beside and I just looked at each other. Thought for a min the plane was hijacked or something.. The girl is from Calcutta but is studying in Warwick in England. It was great .. I was expecting all on the plane to be speaking Hindu or Bengali BUT they all spoke English. Great. How Naive was I leaving Ireland??!!

Anyway, after circling Calcutta for an hour, we ended up having to head to Dhaka airport in Bangladesh to get more fuel. We were sitting there ages and they said we would go again when they got confirmation that the weather had cleared. We were all going down the back for cups or tea and snacks and chatting to everyone - great way to meet people!! Even though the eyes were hanging from my head with tiredness (4 hours sleep Wednesday night as spent hours chatting with Michael (Founder of Charity) about plans etc...

We ended up sitting there for nearly 4 hours more before we were told that we couldn't go to Calcutta. We couldn't leave the plane either to ring anyone as can't be in Bangladesh without VISA. Had to wait for buses to come for the 200+ of us to be taken to a hotel. I was in a panic as knew an Indian lady was waiting for me and I had NO way of contact. ALSO had NONE of their money to use... They couldn't even let me off the plane as ILLEGAL ere now. All got to an amazing airport after seeing the WORST poverty I have EVER seen. It was way way worse than the poverty I seen in Thailand. And the traffic.... I won't go there. Am lucky am ere now... HORNS, HORNS and More horns... Don't know how I didn't see an accident...

I checked into the hotel in a room beside the other girl, Surabhi. She rang her parents and got her Aunt's number ( who lives in Dhaka ere). 2 of her uncles came and took us out of the hotel for a tour. Went to an amazing 8 storey shopping centre too. I felt like I was someone famous as everyone was staring - DIDN'T see ONE other white person there... Great that I was with natives though.. Taken for dinner too - as we had have no money for here and wouldn't get it as shouldn't be here. At her Uncle's house now and it is Massive. They even have servants and their own taxi driver who took us everywhere. I am in shock after all the shacks, disabled people, rickshaws etc I have seen all morning. Haven't slept since I left Ireland 5am Thursday morn. Heading for a nap in her Uncle's ere now and they are taking us back to the hotel when we get confirmation of when the flight is Definitely going to Calcutta. WAS going to go to bed in the hotel BUT how could I say NO to seeing this city when might never be ere again...

Ok Hitting the sack now! Have pile to do tomorrow after I deliver the Huge Candles to Mother House - They were supposed to be placed by Mother Theresa's tomb today - Hope I'm not cursed for being late!!!

Wishing you all a HAPPY EASTER and see you soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb