Ashram of Maharishi Mahesh Yogi (The Beatle's Ashram)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
May 20th 2014
Published: May 10th 2020
Edit Blog Post













This place was a shell of what it used to be... Abandoned, but frozen in time. Buildings that once housed guests from all over the world, now sits idly adjacent to the Holy Ganga River. It was at this specific Ashram, that The Beatles visited, igniting a fascination for Indian culture throughout the West. My initial reaction upon entering this compound was a tingling chill. It was lifeless. I explored various buildings in the area. One of which used to be an auditorium, now adorned with graffiti. It was an interesting place to visit if you're in Rishikesh. Although, it had only been abandoned for several decades, it felt like centuries. There was also a veil of mystery surrounding the area. As though, more had happened here than anyone had ever reported...














"In Great Expectation, Pip is chasing after a life that he was not born into. Is it not reasonable to have the desire for a better life? Where should that line be drawn? Joe is the opposite of Pip. He has accepted his life of a blacksmith. Pip reminds me of myself. Joe was right when he told Pip that people are divided into classes. Would I lose my family if I became more successful? I'm very confuse. I'm the only one out of my pop and brother that is able to escape misery. Or am I just running from my miseries? Either way, I don't want that life if they're not with me....
Smoked out of a Chillem piece last night. Feeling tired today. Could I smoked too much? Also have this fucking cramp in my left shoulder. Getting some well deserved rest in Rishikesh though. Seven months in and still counting..."
Journal Entry: 05.20.2014









Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb