Birthday Bash in Rishikesh


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
May 17th 2014
Published: May 10th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Triveni Ghat



Rishikesh reminded me of Southeast Asia. There was a backpacker/hippie vibe to it. The city's main draw is "Spirituality" and that being the main reason for most people's visit. That, yoga and meditation. Along the Ganges river sit Rishikesh. I didn't know the Ganges started all the way up near the Himalayas. I met Santi, an Argentinian on the night bus. It was one of the worst bus ride that I'd ever had. For some smart reason, I decided to choose the bed on top of the rear tire. It was a very bumpy ride. I had to fend off mosquitos as well. At one point during the night my body flew up and I bumped my head. Never pick the seat or bed on top of the rear tires. Once we reached Rishikesh, we walked around looking for a place to stay. Eventually, we stumbled upon an old guesthouse named Swiss Cottage. Swiss Cottage used to be an ashram, which started in the early 60s. It was a nice and affordable little place. I stayed for a week doing pretty much nothing except smoking weed and hash from a chillem. Thanks to the four German travelers for sharing their goods. Wish I had something to give back. There were so many ashrams there. Walking pass these ashrams, I'd realized that these ashrams were nothing more than resorts. I'm sure at one point, ashrams and yoga had meanings and complexities to them. Now, they're just businesses. Anyone can become a yoga instructor in four weeks!! Or come get your spiritual enlightenment by staying at one of our resorts...umm I mean ashrams by the Holy Ganges. Nevertheless, Rishikesh was still beautiful in its own unique way. It was very difficult to find meat of any sort there. This town is strictly vegetarian. Alcohol was also a rarity.





This little boy turned four. It was like any other kids birthday party. A lot of screaming, crying and a parent in his underwear at the end of the night. Good times!



The Ganges



This is where locals go to take shits.


"Reached Rishikesh yesterday, after deciding that Haridwar, was not the place I wanted to spend time in. Met Santi, an Argentinian traveler on the night bus. Santi is a cool dude. We wandered around Rishikesh and found Swiss Cottage, a former ashram, now a guesthouse. Pretty chill and cheap place. Met some amazing people here as well. I was apprehensive as I arrived there as I normally am to new places. Modi won the PM election...will this mean change for India or just another politician doing his best politician impression? I'm surprised by the news that Modi used to sell tea as a child, but how much of it is true? Ah fuck it."
Journal Entry: 05.17.2014


Aloo Parantha:



A stuff Chappatti, consisting of beans and potatoes. Roasted either over fire or in an oven. Served with vegetable chili.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb