My First Night of “Oh God, what do I do”?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Haridwar
April 13th 2009
Published: April 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post



Lying in bed a few nights ago and about to go sleep when I heard strange loud yelling noised outside my room. Luckily I am on the first floor so didn’t feel too perturbed. Then more really loud shouts and grunts followed by demonic laughter. Also a whistle was being blown long and hard in between all of this. These noises would get quieter as the person moved away and then get louder again as he got closer.

Occasionally I could see torch light flashing on my ceiling. This made me feel very uncomfortable. Was someone trying to spy on me? Could he get up to the first floor? My heart is thumping at this stage. Then to make matters worse, I heard what sounded like a couple of gun shots. I thought that it must be some wild drunken crazy man, but couldn’t understand why no one was doing anything about it.

I was almost too frightened to move, but decided to go and unplug my mossy zapper in case he could see the light from it so knew someone was in here.

This went on from about 11ish to 2.30 in the morning.

The next day I was more than a little weary and exhausted with all the tension of the night. I later found out that a wild elephant had been close to the ashram and the night watchman with the whistle, had been trying to frighten it off with loud noises and fire crackers all night! If I had known that I would have been out of bed in a flash to watch. Instead I spent the night cowering in my bed.

Sorry, no photos and you know why.


Advertisement



13th April 2009

Elephants in the night
Hope it wasn't your sex appeal working overtime again. You do seem to attract some strange ones!!

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb