The holy city Varanasi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
March 12th 2015
Published: March 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Varanasi - oldest then any other still inhabited city in the world. Some believe, that death in Varanasi brings salvation. For me, Varanasi felt older then life.
I was lucky, since the city was gentle and more than good to me. It allowed me to meet one of the nicest, wisest and funniest people I ever met. For that, I'm very much thankful.
For a short time during this trip, I felt almost at home at Assi Ghat. If there is one place in India I'd like to come back to, it would be Varanasi and it's very special people I feel privileged to meet.

I've been thinking what was that different from other cities in India (except Varanasi being - well - Varanasi). I realized, it's the people. We had the best guide ever - working for many European and American photographers and directors, he understands our culture much better than any other guides I met in India or SE Asia. It makes a huge difference: not being rushed from one tourist point to another, and being able to relax - because you know there is somebody taking care of it all (and not letting you get run over by a rickshaw or a cow for that matter).

This way, we slowly met his friends too (the chai wallah, the little brahmin, our green T-shirt friend😊 and countless others. I'm not using their names, since I'm not sure if they'd like it.). After a couple of days, I started to call them our little Assi-Ghat gang.

I'm trying to sort out my memories of the most memorable moments from this Visit - but they are so many! The little "picnic" on the Ganga's river, the family visits, the evening long chai-drinking discussions, the photo-sessions, dinners, the evening Aarti ceremony, the little prayer-candles-gift, the Holi-festival of colours... I'm sure I'm forgetting many more right now.

One think I can write clearly though - if you ever visit India, or especially Varanasi and look for somebody who will not rush you from one point to another, or if you are a photographer or director coming there to work on your project - I have the best guide for you. Perhaps the only one who can say tourists are coming back for him more than for the city itself. (I really think he has a waiting list by now,
Monkey on a bikeMonkey on a bikeMonkey on a bike

Monkeys are the bosses. And they know it.
he just didn't tell us.😊)
So just send me a message. I'll be happy to link you to his Facebook site.

Many people say, Varanasi is about death. They mention the pollution of the river and the streets, the ashes, the ever present chaos and noise. For me, the city of light was about friendship, life, beliefs and feeling welcomed. I believe, it's the people we met who made the difference, and for that I'd always thank them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



30th September 2015

guide
hello, if you would please be so kind to give me contact information for your guide I would so appreciate it....thanks
1st October 2015

email
check your email address, I just sent it to you:) Hope you´ll enjoy your trip!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb