Left a good job in the city...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
September 10th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Its good to be back in the friendly madness of the Gangiatic Plain. Yesterday I wore a lungi, and had as many people trying to speak to me in Hindi as in English. We went on a sunrise boat tour of the ghats, and a van tour of three different temples. One of them had the Ramanana written out on in Hindi the walls. I plan to come back in nine months and read it.

In Hindu comsology, Varanasi is the cremation grounds for the entire universe. Sure is hot enough.

A thought occured to me yesterday about how the Ganga and people's relations to it mirror Hindu theology. Just like divine, omnipresent Brahman is in us all, and all are in Brahman, we are all in the Ganges, and She is in all of us. We drink Her body, She becomes our bodies, and after our present forms pass they become the silt that lines Her channels and form Her deltas.

Advertisement



10th September 2008

Ghandi on Ramanama
"When a child, my nurse taught me to repeat Ramanama whenever I felt afraid or miserable, and it has been second nature with me with growing knowledge and advancing years. I may even say that the Word is in my heart, if not actually on my lips, all the twenty-four hours. It has been by saviour and I am ever stayed on it. In the spiritual literature of the world, the Ramayana of Tulsidas takes a foremost place. It has charms that I miss in the Mahabharata and even in Valmiki's Ramayana"

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb