The Holy City, Varanasi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
May 9th 2014
Published: May 9th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Downtown Varanasi











Known as the holy city, this city has the longest continual inhabitants in history. Sarnath, a city 15km north of Varanasi is the place where The Buddha gave his first sermon. I was here during summer season, bad idea. It was extremely hot.


A Political Throw Down in India:

Its election time here in India. Its the orange hat party against the white hat party. The people of India have high hopes for the winner of this election. I wish them the best.


"Got ripped off by a bus driver today...I was mad as fuck, but then I realized that I'd just paid 20 rubies for an invaluable life lesson.
To my friend, the Roti maker.
Quietly, he stood in front of the brick oven making Roti. Rolling the dough with a rolling pin and then heating it over open fire. Oblivious to the world and even to my presence. His life is so simple. As I got up to pay for my meal, I was charged for the water, of which I brought in myself. An argument ensued. Not again...Then, to my surprise, the Roti maker spoke. I didn't understood what he said to the other man, but it was assertive and firm. The other man gave me my change and I left. The Roti man, my dude."
Journal Entry: 05.09.2014




A Sip of Life from the Ganga (Ganges) River:

Perhaps, the most sacred river on earth. This river has been the source of life for numerous civilizations. There are often religious ritual and cremations taking place on the banks of this holy river. The Ganga River also has a reputation of being an extremely dirty river. I didn't think it was too bad. It was a beautiful sight to see locals bathing and playing cricket along the river. I wonder if a dip in the river will cleanse me of my...





Sarnath:

















">




For the Foodies:



Mango Smoothie



Chappatti and Dalh



Lassi


Me and my GoonsMe and my GoonsMe and my Goons

My absolute indulgence. This Lassi is thicker and chunkier than previous Lassi I've tasted. There was also a yellow curd layer on top. An absolute treat.





This is another form of Roti. It is toasted over open fire, with grounded wheat center, served with 3 different type of salsa. Topped off with chopped onions and garbanzo beans.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Ghat overlooking the GangesGhat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the Ganges
Sleeper CabinSleeper Cabin
Sleeper Cabin

This was how I got around India. The lines for train tickets were unbelievably long. Luckily, the Indian government maintained a section where some tickets are reserved for tourists.
IMG_4193IMG_4193
IMG_4193
IMG_4194IMG_4194
IMG_4194
IMG_4195IMG_4195
IMG_4195
IMG_4196IMG_4196
IMG_4196
IMG_4197IMG_4197
IMG_4197
IMG_4198IMG_4198
IMG_4198
Ghat overlooking the GangesGhat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the GangesGhat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the GangesGhat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the GangesGhat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the GangesGhat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the GangesGhat overlooking the Ganges
Ghat overlooking the Ganges
IMG_4208IMG_4208
IMG_4208
IMG_4209IMG_4209
IMG_4209
IMG_4210IMG_4210
IMG_4210
IMG_4211IMG_4211
IMG_4211


Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb