Special faces


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu
August 1st 2008
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

India is an amazing place full of contradictions and craziness, smiles and special faces.

3.37pm
I've just developed my own special India face. An interesting mixture of exasperation, guilt and despair. I'm lost in a side street after attempting to explore Ooty on foot. It's so hot and humid I'm hoping the rain is on it's way to clear the air. I feel guilty about the row of beggars I've just walked past, I only had a few coins handy. I wish I could do more to help. I wish people would understand me more (sometimes I wonder if this is the story of my life, not just when I'm travelling in Tamil Nadu!) I miss having someone to share this all with. I'm tired and hot. I decide I should capture this moment in time and my special face on camera.


3.50pm
"Coffee time - where anything can happen!" claims the coffee shop slogan. Intriguing! I dive in so I can wash and try to cheer up. The shop is a mishmash of colourful decorations and balloons - decorations put up for "Friendship Day". Ironic I'm sitting on my own. This is a big, bright, modern chainstore
Coffee Time!Coffee Time!Coffee Time!

It's true - anything can happen at Coffee Time!
slap bang in the middle of a street full of tiny street vendors. I feel guilty for stepping inside but when the waiter servers me my capucchino! it has a wonderful smiley face on it and I instantly feel my first special India face replaced by my second: filled with happiness, delight, awe and warmth about the kindness and goodness of all those I've met.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Special India Face 2Special India Face 2
Special India Face 2

That's a better kind of special face!


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb