Toy Train to the tea plantations!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Crikey my blog tells me it's the 1st of August - how the hell did that happen?

Anyway... I managed to get up at the distinctly not-so-funny time of 5.30am and drag my sorry arse to the train station to see if the waiting list for the train had any joy for me. Had to check a list pasted onto the wall of the train station - a bit like getting my A-level exam results, although this time I didn't quite make the grade so no seat reservation for me. This meant cramming myself in to the last carriage of the train right at the back, incidently right next to the locomotive engine which meant things got a little hot and steamy later on!! (not in a good way)

Lonely Planet tells me the toy train to Ooty is a must-see in Southern India. I'm slightly cynical and wonder if the two ridiculously early mornings and series of increasingly frantic bus journeys and hassle at the train station will be worth it. Looking back over the past couple of days it WAS worth it after all! (despite the party of 10students in the carriage dancing and singing for 3hours and trying to get me to "build a relationship" with me even though I tell them I'm married and tell them colourful stories about my husband and our life together ha!

So the train chugs along for 5hours, apparently the trainline has been running for 100 years and the section I travel is only 46kms but seems to last for infinity... The views are delightful though - we climb higher and higher with sheer drops on one side down into a vast valley filled with tea plantations. We only stop for the train operators to cool the loco engine down with water and for the occasional person to drop off the side of the train. I see a large grey monkey running through the trees, waterfalls and lovely bright blue flowers (sorry mum I can't remember the name - you know those giant pretty ones that smell nice with a large stalk in the middle err...)

Apparently there are only 16tunnels en route, but it feels like more, every time we approach one the light in our carriage goes on which is the signal for panic and shouting to break out as everyone scrambles to shut the windows
Just one more photo!Just one more photo!Just one more photo!

Just one photo... and please can I build a relationship with you I don't mind that you are married!
in time before the steam comes wafting in like a fiery dragon belching in our faces. Did I mention 3hours into the train ride and I'm as hot as I've been since the open-tour bus tour in Dubai and starting to lose my enthusiasm about the views. I managed to establish that we are indeed going to be on the train for at least another couple of hours and at the next stop make a wild dash for the bushes to pee before the train leaves without me.

I could go on, but quite frankly I can't be bothered and once again this blog is too long! if you manage to read it all make a comment my friend!


Advertisement



1st August 2008

I've met your husband - he's a lovely man. Infact I have a picture of the two of you. Hope you are enjoying yourself Cass. Can't wait to see your smiley face again. High five for using facebook as a great marketing tool!!
2nd August 2008

Wow well maybe I'm not so crazy after all if you have photographic evidence to prove he exists!
16th August 2008

Aren't I your husband??
At least I was last time when we were traveling around Cambodia! Yeah your right the entries too long ! less is more - the less you write the more I will read !
11th September 2008

Husband???
Yep... i managed to read the whole section.... Jus thinking about the husband tho, when do i get to meet him?

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb