Quiet week + lots of cricket


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Madurai
February 16th 2010
Published: February 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I've had a quiet week since my last entry, mostly just continuing with teaching English and attempting to coach cricket.
Last Friday I visited the YMCA mentally disabled and hearing impaired school. It was an amazing place and all the children were so happy. Most of them had either downs syndrome or severe autism. I helped out in one of the classes but it is so difficult to teach anything meaningful, most of the time you are just trying to keep the're attention and play games with them. After lunch they were allowed outside to play and that was really fun taking them on the play equipment. It felt so much more worthwhile spending time with these kids and they were so appreciative of any attention. I would really like to spend more time there but Projects Abroad have not set up any placements there and it takes so long to get anything organized here I doubt I will get the chance. Tomorrow I am visiting another similar home which does have good contacts with Projects (some volunteers already there) so hopefully I will be able to spend at least a few days a week at that one. 
I stayed at the boys home all weekend instead of going on the organised outing as I had had enough of the long journeys and also wanted to save money for travelling after I finish. 
I got to spend a lot more time with the orphanage boys and played 4 full games of cricket as well as lots of volleyball with them I also taught them a few ball games we used to play at breaks in school and learnt some Indian ones. Saturday evening I watched a hilarius bollywood film which I just could not stop laughing at. I am bringing some back with me, the songs and dances are great.
Sunday I went to watch the boys I coach cricket play a practice much but when I got there I found they wanted me to play and open the batting. I got all padded up with helmet and a bat a few sizes too small and strode out to the middle. It was really fun and I got a few runs so luckily I didn't shatter their illusions of me being a "great" player too much. It was so hot running in midday sun with all the gear on though.
Teaching Is getting a lot harder as I've used up most of my ideas but I found some lesson plans on the Internet which help a lot. I also set them a spelling test to learn.
My 2 weeks travelling after are taking shape now, I will keep you updated where I'm headed, ( no where near the attacks in Pune). I have also confirmed my flight changes so I am now returning on the 23rd of march.
Miss you all lots 
Love Joe xx  

Advertisement



23rd February 2010

my darling joseph! Sounds amazing. I can picture it all. Your birthday sounded bloody brilliant! Waaaaay better than a lame piss up in chill or studio! Just wish we could have come out to you! Seems like you are finding the volunteer work very rewarding. Im so glad. Miss you so so much! Love lots and lots x x x

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1094s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb